29th Cardiff Scout Group
What it does
The 29th Cardiff Scout Group formed in 1930 runs from Scoutbase in Pontcanna Fields, Cardiff. As a group we are one of the larger Scout Groups in Cardiff and Wales, with 200 members, 30 adult volunteers representing 140 families and consist of:2 Beaver Colonies (6-8yrs) 2 Cub Packs (8-11)1 Scout Troop (11-14)1 Explorer Scout Unit (14-18)
Its charitable purposes
THE INSTRUCTIONS OF BOYS OF ALL CLASSES IN THE PRINCIPLES OF DISCIPLINE LOYALTY AND GOOD CITIZENSHIP
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £51,237 and spent £42,194.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £51,237 | £42,194 | Not reported | 63 |
| 31 December 2024 | £55,355 | £54,225 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 December 2023 | £48,118 | £43,461 | Not reported | 22 |
| 31 December 2022 | £46,512 | £40,437 | Not reported | 24 |
| 31 December 2021 | £32,286 | £31,389 | Not reported | 28 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 59%, from £32,286 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £51,237 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 82% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £2,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £10,922 from 4 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2015, worth at least £7,000.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 12 Nov 2016 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,000 |
| 10 Sept 2015 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Mrs Nikki ColeChair
- Alun Lewis Jenkins
- Jane O'toole
- Neil Anthony Desmond
- Rex Hendricksen
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 27 August 2026, 65 days early | Received 27 August 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 30 October 2025, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 29 October 2024, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 14 October 2023, 17 days early | Received 14 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 29 October 2022, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1002018
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 25 February 1991
- Governing document
- ROYAL CHARTER 4 JANUARY 1912
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.