Varteg Community Association
What it does
To supply leisure activities and social support within our area of benefit. We provide a Community space for low cost hire, host free Community events and entertainment in a semi rural area. Our aim is to reduce social isolation for all age groups, ensure the maintenance of a Community hub and to act as a link between other statutory organisations, our members and the wider Community.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF INHABITANTS OF VARTEG AND THE NEIGHBOURHOOD BY ASSOCIATING THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY ORGANISATIONS AND INHABITANTS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Torfaen
Area of benefit in its governing document: Varteg and the Neighbourhood
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £23,306 and spent £20,809.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £23,306 | £20,809 | Not reported | 4 |
| 31 March 2024 | £21,254 | £23,998 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 March 2023 | £18,801 | £21,099 | Not reported | 2 |
| 31 March 2022 | £17,472 | £18,232 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 March 2021 | £5,770 | £7,201 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 304%, from £5,770 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £23,306 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 89% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 14% of its income in the year to 31 March 2022 came from government grants and contracts (£2,400).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £1,200 from 5 grants | £1,200 from 5 contracts |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- James Michael WilliamsChair
- Darren Quigley
- David Warren
- George Hill
- Janis Jones
- Jeffery Geraint Williams
- Joshua Warren
- Kimberley Jeffrey
- Michael Page
- Peter Smith
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 19 August 2025, 165 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 22 December 2024, 40 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 23 November 2023, 69 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 4 December 2022, 58 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 23 September 2021, 130 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1015166
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 11 November 1992
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 6 OCTOBER 1981 AS AMENDED 28 OCTOBER 1992
- Council area of its contact address
- Torfaen
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.