South and Mid Wales Cave Rescue Team/Tim Achub Ogofau De a Chanolbarth Cymru
What it does
The object of the Team shall be to relieve suffering and distress amongst persons or animals endangered by accident or natural hazards underground by the provision, at the request of the police, of search and rescue for any persons or animals endangered.
Its charitable purposes
TO RELIEVE SUFFERING AND DISTRESS AMONGST PERSONS OR ANIMALS ENDANGERED BY ACCIDENT OR NATURAL HAZARDS UNDERGROUND BY THE PROVISION,AT THE REQUEST OF THE POLICE,OF SEARCH AND RESCUE FOR ANY PERSONS SO ENDANGERED.
Causes
- What it works on
- Health and saving lives
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £16,435 and spent £16,707.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £16,435 | £16,707 | Not reported | 150 |
| 31 December 2024 | £21,852 | £12,378 | Not reported | 190 |
| 31 December 2023 | £16,321 | £9,037 | Not reported | 170 |
| 31 December 2022 | £40,302 | £13,628 | Not reported | 143 |
| 31 December 2021 | £63,923 | £18,658 | Not reported | 137 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 74%, from £63,923 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £16,435 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 102% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £1,206 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £5,000, awarded in 2012.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 21 Jun 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- David DunbarChair
- Alan Braybrooke
- Daniel Gorst
- Gary Mitchell
- Ian Holmes
- James Waite
- Paul Craddy
- Spencer Tony Drew FCA Dippfs
- Stefan Davies
- Sue Goodhead
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 13 October 2026, 18 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 30 July 2025, 93 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 10 July 2024, 113 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 1 October 2023, 30 days early | Received 1 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 27 October 2022, 4 days early | Received 27 October 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1016463
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 21 January 1993
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 30 JUNE 1991 AS AMENDED 20 JANUARY 2002, 4 MAY 2003 AND 24 JANUARY 2010. as amended on 20 Jan 2019 as amended on 17 Jan 2021 as amended on 19 Jan 2025 as amended on 18 Jan 2026
- Website
- www.smwcrt.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.