Treorchy Women's Institute
What it does
Bringing together women of various age groups to campaign and educate in order to enhance their lives and the lives of their family and their community.The WI annual programme includes, Yoga, performing arts, choir, kitchen band,various craft activities and monthly speakers covering a vast number of subjects.
Its charitable purposes
THE MAIN PURPOSE OF THE WOMEN'S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION ARE TO ENABLE WOMEN WHO ARE INTERESTED IN ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH RURAL LIFE, INCLUDING ARTS, CRAFTS AND SCIENCES, TO IMPROVE AND DEVELOP CONDITIONS OF RURAL LIFE, TO ADVANCE THEIR EDUCATION IN CITIZENSHIP, IN PUBLIC QUESTIONS BOTH NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL, IN MUSIC, DRAMA AND OTHER CULTURAL SUBJECTS AND IN ALL BRANCHES OF AGRICULTURE, HANDICRAFTS, HOME ECONOMICS, HEALTH AND SOCIAL WELFARE. IT SEEKS TO GIVE WOMEN THE OPPORTUNITY OF WORKING TOGETHER THROUGH THE WOMEN'S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION, AND OF PUTTING INTO PRACTICE THOSE IDEALS FOR WHICH IT STANDS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Animals
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £5,166 and spent £6,218.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £5,166 | £6,218 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £2,564 | £4,474 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £6,894 | £1,610 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £8,003 | £6,777 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £1,495 | £1,908 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 246%, from £1,495 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £5,166 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 120% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2014, worth at least £9,803.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 20 Feb 2016 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 17 Jan 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,803 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Carol Bobbett
- Enid Thomas
- Milwyn Pearce
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 13 September 2026, 48 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 23 October 2025, 8 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 5 July 2024, 118 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 5 July 2024, 248 days late | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 5 July 2024, 613 days late | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1024996
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 23 August 1993
- Governing document
- MODEL CONSTITUTION AND RULES (ALREADY LODGED)
- Council area of its contact address
- Neath Port Talbot
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.