Tonteg Women's Institute
What it does
Provision of education and activities for women, providing opportunities for women to develop new skills, friendship and to achieve their full potential.
Its charitable purposes
THE MAIN PURPOSE OF THE WOMEN'S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION ARE TO ENABLE WOMEN WHO ARE INTERESTED IN ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH RURAL LIFE, INCLUDING ARTS, CRAFTS AND SCIENCES, TO IMPROVE AND DEVELOP CONDITIONS OF RURAL LIFE, TO ADVANCE THEIR EDUCATION IN CITIZENSHIP, IN PUBLIC QUESTIONS BOTH NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL, IN MUSIC, DRAMA AND OTHER CULTURAL SUBJECTS AND IN ALL BRANCHES OF AGRICULTURE, HANDICRAFTS, HOME ECONOMICS, HEALTH AND SOCIAL WELFARE. IT SEEKS TO GIVE WOMEN THE OPPORTUNITY OF WORKING TOGETHER THROUGH THE WOMEN'S INSTITUTE ORGANISATION, AND OF PUTTING INTO PRACTICE THOSE IDEALS FOR WHICH IT STANDS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £10,769 and spent £10,264.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £10,769 | £10,264 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £11,443 | £11,167 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £8,310 | £7,536 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £6,988 | £6,856 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £1,844 | £1,957 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 484%, from £1,844 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £10,769 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 95% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £200 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £200 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £856, awarded in 2005.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Jul 2005 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £856 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Barbara Lewis
- Brynfa Allsop
- Elizabeth Roberts
- Grace Whately
- Pamela Susan Dinham
- Susan Sherry
- Wendy Wilson
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 6 June 2026, 147 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 7 October 2025, 24 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 4 July 2024, 119 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 20 July 2023, 103 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 15 August 2022, 77 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1024998
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 23 August 1993
- Governing document
- MODEL CONSTITUTION AND RULES (ALREADY LODGED)
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.