Oriel Davies Gallery
What it does
Oriel Davies Gallery is dedicated to providing the local community and wider audiences with access to the best modern and contemporary visual art from Wales and the wider world. Through our exhibitions and education programmes, projects and activities, we are committed to encouraging enjoyment, understanding, learning and participation in the visual arts.
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC, IN PARTICULAR WALES, IN THE UNDERSTANDING AND APPRECIATION OF THE ARTS, WITH PARTICULAR EMPHASIS UPON THE VISUAL ARTS
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
Area of benefit in its governing document: Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £1,232,776 and spent £447,425.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £1,232,776 | £447,425 | 8 | 13 |
| 31 March 2024 | £584,754 | £424,998 | 10 | 8 |
| 31 March 2023 | £483,917 | £376,617 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2022 | £407,371 | £344,253 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 March 2021 | £407,285 | £296,679 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 203%, from £407,285 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £1,232,776 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 36% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 71% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£876,430).
- Largest funder
- National Contemporary Art Gallery for Wales capital grant gave £874,430 in the year to 31 March 2025, 71% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £2,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: £874,430 from 1 contract.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £2,000 from 1 grant | £874,430 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2024 | £20,785 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £34,954 from 5 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £13,935 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £70,213 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£875,603
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£276,499
- Trading and fundraising£25,377
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 8 funders who gave £1,146,475 between them. £232,441 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| National Contemporary Art Gallery for Wales capital grant | Trust, company or other | £874,430 | ||
| Arts Council of Wales | Other public body | £230,441 | £393,998 | |
| Open Newtown | Trust, company or other | £19,000 | £19,034 | |
| ACW Create | Trust, company or other | £10,604 | ||
| Ashley Family Foundation | Trust, company or other |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £60,500.
By funder
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£30,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£20,500, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£10,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 4 Nov 2022 | Community Foundation in Wales | £10,000 |
| 1 Jun 2015 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £30,000 |
| 15 Dec 2010 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £20,500 |
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
5 July 2023
Named by Dafydd Rhys in the Senedd
…roject. Those are: Storiel in Bangor; Aberystwyth Arts Centre; Glyn Vivian in Swansea; Mostyn in Llandudno; Newport Museum and Art Gallery; Oriel Davies Gallery in Newtown; Oriel Myrddin Gallery in Carmarthen; Plas Glyn y Weddw in Pen Llŷn; as well as Ruthin Craft Centre. The criteria, maybe, are of…
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Bethan Ruth Burnside
- Damon Webb
- Jamie Christopher Burt
- Michael Hugh Brown
- Sean Adrian Vicary
- Simon Patrick Cotton
- Susan Robertson
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 17 November 2025, 75 days early | Received 17 November 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 1 October 2024, 122 days early | Received 6 November 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 9 January 2024, 22 days early | Received 9 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 25 October 2022, 98 days early | Received 25 October 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 4 January 2022, 27 days early | Received 4 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1034890
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 14 March 1994
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 17 DECEMBER 1993 AND CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION ON CHANGE OF NAME OF 6 JULY 1998 AND 11TH SEPTEMBER 2002, AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION OF 18 JUNE 2008. as amended on 27 Feb 2024
- Company number
- 02881599This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.orieldavies.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Powys
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.