Rest Bay Lifeguard Club
What it does
Our main aim is to provide users of Rest Bay beach with the best possible lifeguard service. Training and educating members and the public in beach and water safety. We provide volunteer patrols of Rest Bay beach and train members (age 7 up) in lifesaving skills in order to gain lifesaving awards. Members are also given opportunities to participate in surf lifesaving competitions.
Its charitable purposes
A) THE PREVENTION AND REDUCTION OF LOSS OF LIFE BY DROWNING BY THE PROVISION AND MAINTENANCE OF AN INSHORE RESCUE SERVICE IN THE AREA OF REST BAY BEACH, PORTHCAWL, MID GLAMORGAN. B) THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY, IN PARTICULAR: I) THE PROMOTION AND DEVELOPMENT OF BEACH LIFE SAVING METHODS IN ALL THEIR RESPECTS II) THE PROMOTION OF THE WATER SAFETY ASPECT OF ALL BEACH ACTIVITIES III) THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE METHODS OF THE TEACHING AND INSTRUCTION OF THE ABOVE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Area of benefit in its governing document: Rest Bay, Porthcawl
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £56,999 and spent £57,850.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £56,999 | £57,850 | Not reported | 200 |
| 31 December 2024 | £38,612 | £30,216 | Not reported | 200 |
| 31 December 2023 | £40,926 | £38,947 | Not reported | 120 |
| 31 December 2022 | £17,851 | £23,913 | Not reported | 200 |
| 31 December 2021 | £16,718 | £9,102 | Not reported | 200 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 241%, from £16,718 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £56,999 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 101% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 11 grants to this charity since 2004, worth at least £37,424.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£34,114, 9 grants
- Department for Transport£3,010, 1 grant
- Freemasons' Charity£300, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 5 Feb 2021 | Freemasons' Charity | £300 |
| 24 Jun 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £7,905 |
| 15 Dec 2016 | Department for Transport | £3,010 |
| 19 May 2016 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 24 Nov 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,300 |
| 22 Dec 2009 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,700 |
| 17 Nov 2008 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,950 |
| 15 Oct 2007 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 15 Aug 2006 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,450 |
| 24 Jan 2006 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,351 |
All 11 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 14 Dec 2004 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,458 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
23 January 2023, Bridgend
Named in an agenda item or minute of Communities, Environment and Housing Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Formerly Subject Overview & Scrutiny Committee 3)
Declarations of Interest
23 January 2023, Bridgend
Norah Clarke declared an interest that names the charity, at Communities, Environment and Housing Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Formerly Subject Overview & Scrutiny Committee 3)
Recorded as a personal interest.
Trustees
13 trustees run the charity.
- Matthew DaviesChair
- Andy Morgan
- Arran Bluck
- Chris Page
- Jeffrey George Page
- Laura McCloy
- Lesley Page
- Lisa Davies
- Megan McCloy
- Melanie Taylor
- Richard Castle
- Sam McCloy
- Stephen Taylor
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 5 August 2026, 87 days early | Received 5 August 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 4 August 2025, 88 days early | Received 4 August 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 26 September 2024, 35 days early | Received 26 September 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 25 October 2023, 6 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 25 October 2022, 6 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1041392
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 October 1994
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED MARCH 1990 AS AMENDED 28 AUGUST 1994
- Website
- www.facebook.com/restbay
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.