Tools for Self Reliance Cymru
What it does
-To relieve poverty amongst the people of the under-developed areas of the World by the provision of hand and other tools, equipment and training.-To educate the public in Wales concerning the nature, causes and effects of poverty, and the distress and suffering arising there from in the underdeveloped areas in the World, and the special problems arising from the lack of suitable hand tools.
Its charitable purposes
1. TO RELIEVE POVERTY AMONGST THE PEOPLE OF THE UNDERDEVELOPED AREAS IN THE WORLD. 2. TO EDUCATE THE PUBLIC IN WALES CONCERNING THE NATURE, CAUSES AND EFFECTS OF POVERTY AND THE DISTRESS AND SUFFERING ARISING. 3. TO CARRY OUT SUCH CHARITABLE PURPOSES AS THE TRUSTEES IN THEIR ABSOLUTE DISCRETION FROM TIME TO TIME DETERMINE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Overseas aid and famine relief
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides other finance
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
- Elsewhere
- Tanzania
Area of benefit in its governing document: Worldwide
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £112,982 and spent £125,912.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £112,982 | £125,912 | Not reported | 60 |
| 31 August 2024 | £128,767 | £138,483 | Not reported | 70 |
| 31 August 2023 | £131,250 | £128,822 | Not reported | 60 |
| 31 August 2022 | £92,809 | £129,298 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 August 2021 | £125,077 | £85,527 | Not reported | 40 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 10%, from £125,077 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £112,982 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 111% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: £11,493 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £11,493 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | £10,107 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £18,495 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £4,915, awarded in 2014.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Sept 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,915 |
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Benjamin Muir Sanderson
- Dr Jonathan Hill
- Emily Tilling
- Herbert Haines
- Kate Madeleine Blackburn
- Kevin Alan Jones
- Mr Jeff Thomas
- Peter John Dickson
- Thomas Alexander Rix
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 31 March 2026, 91 days early | Received 31 March 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 30 June 2025 | Received 30 June 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 20 June 2024, 10 days early | Received 20 June 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 9 June 2023, 21 days early | Received 9 June 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 13 June 2022, 17 days early | Received 13 June 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1055483
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 21 May 1996
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 14 JUNE 1995 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION 11 JANUARY 1996 as amended on 06 Dec 2024 as amended on 28 Jan 2026
- Company number
- 03068269This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.tfsrcymru.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Powys
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.