Somali Progressive Association
What it does
Provides advice, support, advocacy to Somali people in Cardiff and Vale. The Association runs projects promoting take up of services and provides bilingual staff where possible. The Association with statutory and voluntary sectors to provide service in partnerships.
Its charitable purposes
1)TO PROMOTE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE SOMALI COMMUNITY, THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION AND THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION FOR THOSE MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY WHO HAVE NEED BY REASON OF THEIR SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE. 2) TO RELEIVE THE MEMBERS OF THE SOMALI COMMUNITY WHO ARE IN CONDITIONS OF NEED, HARDSHIP OR DISTRESS BY PROVISION OF AN ADVICE AND INFORMATION SERVICE. 3) TO WORK TOWARDS THE ELIMINATION OF DISCRIMINATION AND TO PROMOTE EQUALITY OF OPPORTUNITY AND GOOD RELATION BETWEEN PERSONS OF DIFFERENT RACIAL GROUPS GENERALLY AND PARTICULARLY THOSE OF SOMALI ORIGIN AND OTHER INHABITANTS OF THE AREA OF BENEFIT: FOR FULL DETAILS SEE CLAUSE 2
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- How it works
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
- Vale of Glamorgan
Area of benefit in its governing document: County of South Glamorgan
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £924 and spent £817.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £924 | £817 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £924 | £824 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £977 | £993 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £983 | £1,026 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £823 | £963 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 12%, from £823 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £924 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 88% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £31,000.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Mar 2013 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £15,000 |
| 17 Dec 2010 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £16,000 |
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Abdirahman Ahmed AwedChair
- Abdikarim Abdi Adan
- Ali Mohamed
- Elmi Peter
- Faisa Saleh
- Hussein Abdi Noor
- Matthew John Phillips
- Mohamed Ali Noor
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 1 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 9 January 2026, 22 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 3 February 2025, 3 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 14 February 2024, 14 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 14 February 2024, 379 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 14 February 2024, 744 days late | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1057081
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 24 July 1996
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 17 APRIL 1991 AS AMENDED 15 SEPTEMBER 2002.
- Website
- www.spawales.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.