Porthcawl Lifeguard Club
What it does
New lifeguard station 2010. Provide education and training in surf lifesaving skills and first aid procedures. Improve Voluntary Patrols and support paid lifeguards on both Sandy Bay and Trecco Bay. Attend/host events with SLSA Wales also affiliated to RLSS. Adopted Sandy Bay under the Marine Conservation Scheme and take part in regularly Beach Cleans with the support of Keep Wales Tidy.
Its charitable purposes
1) THE PREVENTION AND REDUCTION OF LOSS OF LIFE BY DROWNING ON THE BEACHES OF GREAT BRITAIN 2) THE PROMOTION OF THE METHODS OF SURF LIFE SAVING FOR THE RESUSCITATION OF THE RESCUED AND APPLICATION OF FIRST AID 3) THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE METHODS OF THE TEACHING AND INSTRUCTION OF THE ABOVE
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Amateur sport
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 1 April 2025, it had income of £7,955 and spent £12,339.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 April 2025 | £7,955 | £12,339 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 1 April 2024 | £7,375 | £8,335 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 1 April 2023 | £6,794 | £6,496 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 1 April 2022 | £10,158 | £6,471 | Not reported | 15 |
| 1 April 2021 | £15,309 | £9,812 | Not reported | 10 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 48%, from £15,309 in the year to 1 April 2021 to £7,955 in the year to 1 April 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 155% of its income in the year to 1 April 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 1 April 2021: £10,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2007, worth at least £29,780.
By funder
- Department for Transport£19,780, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£10,000, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 15 Dec 2016 | Department for Transport | £19,780 |
| 10 Feb 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 19 Feb 2007 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
Trustees
2 trustees run the charity.
- Penelope John
- Stephanie Davenport
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 April 2025 | 1 February 2026 | Received 8 January 2026, 24 days early | Not required |
| 1 April 2024 | 1 February 2025 | Received 6 April 2025, 64 days late | Not required |
| 1 April 2023 | 1 February 2024 | Received 6 April 2025, 430 days late | Not required |
| 1 April 2022 | 1 February 2023 | Received 31 January 2023, 1 day early | Not required |
| 1 April 2021 | 1 February 2022 | Received 21 January 2022, 11 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1058945
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 30 October 1996
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 26 AUGUST 1996
- Website
- www.porthcawlifeguards.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.