Theatr Iolo Ltd
What it does
Our vision is to have a society in which all children can feel empowered and inspired. We strive to do this by enriching the lives of children through memorable experiences that challenge the mind and stir the imagination. At the forefront of creating theatre for children from babies to teenagers, we are passionate about nurturing and igniting their imagination and creativity.
Its charitable purposes
TO ENCOURAGE AND DEVELOP THE KNOWLEDGE, ENJOYMENT AND UNDERSTANDING OF THE ARTS AND TO PROMOTE, IMPROVE AND ADVANCE PUBLIC EDUCATION THROUGH THE PRODUCTION OF THEATRICAL AND OTHER RELATED EDUCATIONAL AND ARTISTIC ACTIVITIES
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £486,466 and spent £462,684.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £486,466 | £462,684 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £347,744 | £291,078 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £365,936 | £414,351 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £333,218 | £334,950 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £306,669 | £279,031 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 59%, from £306,669 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £486,466 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 95% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Arts Council of Wales gave £305,784 in the year to 31 March 2025, 63% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £313,171 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £259,573 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 6 funders who gave £306,236 between them. £306,236 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Arts Council of Wales | Other public body | £305,784 |
| Cardiff Council | Council | £452 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2014, worth at least £128,414.
By funder
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£106,414, 1 grant
- Postcode Community Trust£22,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 31 Mar 2025 | Postcode Community Trust | £22,000 |
| 10 Sept 2014 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £106,414 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 1 payment to this charity worth £29,582, on 2 June 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £29,582 | 1 | 2026/27 |
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- Jonathan CotsenChair
- Amelia Hatfield
- Becky Welton
- David Baxter
- Janet Anne Hayward
- Katherine Romaine Perridge
- Matthew Fisher
- Natalie Paige Lawley
- Thomas Lewis Naylor
- Victoria Edwards
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 6 January 2026, 25 days early | Received 6 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 7 January 2025, 24 days early | Received 7 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 18 December 2023, 44 days early | Received 18 December 2023 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 23 December 2022, 39 days early | Received 23 December 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 14 December 2021, 48 days early | Received 14 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1067810
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 28 January 1998
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 27 JULY 1987 AS AMENDED BY CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION OF CHANGE OF NAME DATED 11 OCTOBER 1996 AND SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 16 OCTOBER 1997, AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION 13 JANUARY 2005 as amended on 09 Jul 2020
- Company number
- 02150427This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.theatriolo.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.