The Sarah Briscoe Trust for Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn
What it does
The provision and maintenance of a Museum of Robert Owen artifacts and a reading room for the benefit and use of the inhabitants of the Town of Newtown & Llanllwchaiarn and the surrounding area.
Its charitable purposes
THE PROVISION AND MAINTENANCE OF A READING ROOM AND A MUSEUM FOR THE BENEFIT AND USE OF THE INHABITANTS WITHIN THE AREA OF BENEFIT
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
Area of benefit in its governing document: The Inhabitants of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn and the Surrounding Area
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £110 and spent £1,610.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £110 | £1,610 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2025 | £4,133 | £11,730 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £7,889 | £7,875 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £8,771 | £6,518 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £19,060 | £16,835 | Not reported | 1 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 99%, from £19,060 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £110 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 1,464% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £12,250.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 May 2023 | Architectural Heritage Fund | £4,750 |
| 5 Feb 2021 | Architectural Heritage Fund | £7,500 |
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- Mr Rod EvansChair
- Charles Rex Shayler
- Cllr Jack Griffin Lewis
- Cllr Margaret Lewington
- Cllr Nicky Tanner
- Cllr Peter Lewington
- Cllr Richard White
- Cllr Rupert Taylor
- Martin Phillip Doyle
- Robert Vincent Wright
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 13 September 2026, 140 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 1 November 2025, 91 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 7 September 2024, 146 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 19 December 2023, 43 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 2 September 2022, 151 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1071585
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 17 September 1998
- Governing document
- SCHEME OF 11 JULY 1995 as amended on 20 Jan 2017 as amended on 20 Jan 2017 as amended on 20 Jan 2017 as amended on 20 Jan 2017
- Council area of its contact address
- Powys
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.