The Monmouth Diocesan Clergy Widows & Dependants Society
What it does
TO GIVE FINACIAL ASSISTANCE AND ADVICE TO FAMILIES OF DECEASED CLERICS WHO, AT THE TIME OF THEIR DEATH(OR PREVIOUS RETIREMENT), WERE IN RECEIPT OF A STIPEND FROM THE CHURCH IN WALES ARISING FROM AN APPOINTMENT IN TH DIOCESE OF MONMOUTH.
Its charitable purposes
TO GIVE GRANTS OR OTHER ASSISTANCE TO THE SURVIVOR(S) OF A DECEASED CLERIC WHO AT THE TIME OF HIS OR HER DEATH WAS:I) IN RECEIPT OF A STIPEND OR PENSION FROM THE CHURCH IN WALES; AND II) SERVING IN THE DIOCESE OF MONMOUTH OR WHOSE LAST OFFICE BEFORE RETIREMENT WAS WITHIN THAT DIOCESE. 'SURVIVOR' MEANS THE SURVIVING SPOUSE OF A MARRIAGE RECOGNISED BY THE CHURCH IN WALES OR ANY SURVIVING RELATIVE WHO BECAUSE OF AGE OF INFIRMITY WAS FINANCIALLY DEPENDANT UPON THE DECEASED CLERIC.
Causes
- What it works on
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Monmouth
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £86,783 and spent £38,223.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £86,783 | £38,223 | Not reported | 8 |
| 31 December 2024 | £34,339 | £36,926 | Not reported | 8 |
| 31 December 2023 | £36,379 | £36,113 | Not reported | 1 |
| 31 December 2022 | £34,648 | £32,854 | Not reported | 1 |
| 31 December 2021 | £32,524 | £33,489 | Not reported | 1 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 167%, from £32,524 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £86,783 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 44% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Jennifer Victoria Neale
- Mrs C Edwards
- Peter Evans Lea
- Rev Canon Brian Roy Pippen
- The Right Reverend Cherry Elizabeth Vann
- The Venerable Ian Kendall Rees
- The Venerable Stella Bailey
- Valerie Mary Willie
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 30 July 2026, 93 days early | Received 30 July 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 3 September 2025, 58 days early | Received 3 September 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 21 July 2024, 102 days early | Received 22 July 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 28 June 2023, 125 days early | Received 28 June 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 12 August 2022, 80 days early | Received 12 August 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1073775
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 1 February 1999
- Governing document
- TRUST DEED DATED 8 SEPTEMBER 1931.
- Council area of its contact address
- Monmouthshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.