Monmouth Diocese Mothers Union
What it does
The society promotes the advancement of the Christian Religion in the sphere of marriage and family life. The Church in Wales Diocese of Monmouth covers Newport City and parts of the other ares listed .The activities include regular branch meetings of members, religious worship and education, practical projects reaching out to the wider community at home and abroad.
Its charitable purposes
THE AIM OF THE SOCIETY IS THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE CHRISTIAN RELIGION IN THE SPHERE OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY LIFE AND IN FURTHERANCE FO THE SAID AIM (BUT NOT OTHERWISE) TO CARRY OUT ALL OR ANY OF THE FOLLOWING OBJECTS:(I) TO UPHOLD CHRIST'S TEACHING ON THE NATURE OF MARRIAGE AND TO PROMOTE ITS WIDER UNDERSTANDING;(II) TO ENCOURAGE PARENTS TO BRING UP THEIR CHILDREN IN THE FAITH AND LIFE OF THE CHURCH;(III) TO MAINTAIN A WORLD-WIDE FELLOWSHIP OF CHRISTIANS UNITED IN PRAYER, WORSHIP AND SERVICE;(IV) TO PROMOTE CONDITIONS IN SOCIETY FAVOURABLE TO STABLE FAMILY LIFE AND THE PROTECTION OF CHILDREN; AND(V) TO HELP THOSE WHOSE FAMILY LIFE HAS MET WITH ADVERSITY
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Overseas aid and famine relief
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Blaenau Gwent
- Caerphilly
- Monmouthshire
- Newport City
- Torfaen
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined. in Practice Monmouth.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £23,544 and spent £20,440.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £23,544 | £20,440 | Not reported | 395 |
| 31 December 2024 | £36,000 | £30,000 | Not reported | 360 |
| 31 December 2023 | £20,381 | £19,585 | Not reported | 465 |
| 31 December 2022 | £18,658 | £16,645 | Not reported | 400 |
| 31 December 2021 | £16,795 | £16,577 | Not reported | 470 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 40%, from £16,795 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £23,544 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 87% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
12 trustees run the charity.
- Ann Phillips
- Ceri Hughes
- Colin Jarrett
- Jean Hackett
- Jennifer Swattridge
- Julie Sussex
- Maureen Mahoney
- Patricia Jarrett
- Paula Pippen
- Rev BRIAN PIPPEN
- Susan Griffiths
- Wendy Gibbs
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 26 October 2026, 5 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 9 October 2025, 22 days early | Received 16 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 13 September 2024, 48 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 19 October 2023, 12 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 27 September 2022, 34 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1073782
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 2 February 1999
- Governing document
- RULES ADOPTED 30 JANUARY 1997. REVISED CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 17 NOVEMBER 2004
- Council area of its contact address
- Monmouthshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.