The Merfyn Griffiths Memorial Fund
What it does
TO AWARD A SCHOLARSHIP OR PRIZE TO A PUPIL IN THE SIXTH FORM OF THE SCHOOL TO ASSIST SUCH PUPIL TO PURSUE HIGHER OR FURTHER EDUCATION OR TO ACQUIRE WORK EXPERIENCE OR TRAINING OR AN APPRENTICESHIP THROUGH THE MEDIUM OF THE WELSH LANGUAGE TO THE GREATEST EXTENT POSSIBLE
Its charitable purposes
THE TRUSTEES WILL HOLD THE TRUST FUND AND THE INCOME DERIVING THEREFROM UPON TRUST FOR THE OBJECT OF AWARDING A SCHOLARSHIP OR PRIZE TO A PUPIL IN THE SIXTH FORM OF THE SCHOOL TO ASSIST SUCH PUPIL TO PURSUE HIGHER OF FURTHER EDUCATION OR TO ACQUIRE WORK EXPERIENCE OR TRAINING OR AN APPRENTICESHIP THROUGH THE MEDIUM OF THE WELSH LANGUAGE TO THE GREATEST EXTENT POSSIBLE
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined. in Practice Rhondda Cynon Taff
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £124 and spent £137.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £124 | £137 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £101 | £42 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £89 | £82 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £85 | £132 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £96 | £29 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 29%, from £96 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £124 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 110% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
1 trustee runs the charity.
- Rhondda Cynon Taf CBCOrganisation
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 23 January 2026, 8 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 12 November 2024, 80 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 19 January 2024, 12 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 23 January 2023, 8 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 9 December 2021, 53 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1074644
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 15 March 1999
- Governing document
- DECLARATION OF TRUST DATED 20 JANUARY 1999
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.