Lower Penarth Community Association
What it does
Lower Penarth Community Association hosts a range of activities for all age groups at its community centre, as well as providing and organising regular and occasional social and cultural events for the community. The association is active in the area of public benefit, facilitating local, regional and national elections, community police meetings and health and wellbeing sessions.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF PENARTH AND THE NEIGHBOURHOOD TOGETHER DEFINED BY THE AREAS OF LAVERNOCK, COSMESTON AND THE PLYMOUTH WARD (HEREINAFTER CALLED "THE AREA OF BENEFIT") WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, RACE OR OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS, BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER THE SAID INHABITANTS AND THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY AND OTHER ORGANISATIONS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS.(FOR FURTHER DETAILS SEE CONSTITUTION)
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Vale of Glamorgan
Area of benefit in its governing document: Penarth and Surrounding Area
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £18,963 and spent £21,828.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £18,963 | £21,828 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £18,011 | £22,922 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £14,673 | £17,882 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £7,417 | £13,464 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £24,989 | £6,174 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 24%, from £24,989 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £18,963 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 115% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £24,000 from 5 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 1 payment to this charity worth £1,250, on 4 May 2022.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vale of Glamorgan Council | £1,250 | 1 | 2022/23 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Carol Emary
- Jacqueline Margaret Pile
- Jennifer Anne Robbins
- Jon Martin Dewis
- Jonathan Cole
- Lynda Ann Garner
- Steven James Bennett
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 1 November 2025, 91 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 20 November 2024, 72 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 7 October 2023, 116 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 3 December 2022, 59 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 23 March 2022, 51 days late | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1074675
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 March 1999
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED ON THE 22 JUNE 1998 AS AMENDED BY RESOLUTIONS ON 12 JUNE 2006 AND 5 JULY 2010.
- Website
- www.facebook.com/LPCAHall
- Council area of its contact address
- Vale of Glamorgan
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.