Greek Orthodox Community of St Nicholas Cardiff
What it does
To provide services for the residents of Cardiff and South Wales and support the Greek Orthodox faith and Greek language, without discrimination of any kind. To perform charitable activities that protect mankind and the environment.
Its charitable purposes
TO PRESERVE AND PROPAGATE THE CHRISTIAN ORTHODOX FAITH AND TRADITIONS AS CONTAINED IN HOLY SCRIPTURE, AS PRACTISED IN THE LIFE OF THE CHURCH, AS CONFIRMED BY THE ECUMENICAL AND LOCAL COUNCILS AND AS INTERPRETED, PRESERVED AND TAUGHT BY THE GREAT CHURCH OF CHRIST, THE ECUMENICAL PATRIARCHATE OF CONSTANTINOPLE.FOR FULL OBJECTS SEE ARTICLE 1 OF THE CONSTITUTION.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Religious activities
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
Area of benefit in its governing document: Cardiff
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £133,640 and spent £113,566.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £133,640 | £113,566 | Not reported | 63 |
| 31 March 2024 | £151,462 | £98,717 | Not reported | 42 |
| 31 March 2023 | £129,375 | £89,465 | Not reported | 68 |
| 31 March 2022 | £137,840 | £111,334 | Not reported | 48 |
| 31 March 2021 | £108,195 | £89,381 | Not reported | 28 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 24%, from £108,195 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £133,640 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 85% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £17,030 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Anthony Attard
- Dimitrios Michael Konstantine Asprou
- His Eminence Archbishop Lioulias
- Nicholas Perdikis
- Pavlos Yiacoumi
- Symeon Odysseas Constantinou
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 23 December 2025, 39 days early | Received 23 December 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 27 December 2024, 35 days early | Received 27 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 17 January 2024, 14 days early | Received 17 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 30 December 2022, 32 days early | Received 30 December 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 11 November 2021, 81 days early | Received 11 November 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1078008
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 1 November 1999
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 22-24 OCTOBER 1964 AS AMENDED 14 OCTOBER 1966, 20 OCTOBER 1968 AND 10 NOVEMBER 1970
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.