Rotary Doctor Bank of Great Britain and Ireland
What it does
1. Provides funding to pay travelling and subsistence expenses for volunteer medical personnel to work in developing countries. 2. Provides medical equipment and supplies to hospitals in developing countries. 3. Supports medical establishments in developing countries by meeting their needs in any other appropriate ways.4. Supports health and education in orphanages in developing countr
Its charitable purposes
THE RELIEF OF SUFFERING AND SICKNESS BY FACILITATING THE PROVISION OF MEDICAL AND PARA MEDICAL PERSONNEL EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES TO HOSPITALS AND MEDICAL UNITS IN ANY PARTS OF THE WORLD WHICH ARE UNABLE TO AFFORD SUCH RESOURCES TO PROVIDE SUCH MEDICAL AID ATTENTION AND TREATMENT (THE BENEFITING AREA)
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Overseas aid and famine relief
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Uganda
Area of benefit in its governing document: Worldwide.
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 June 2025, it had income of £17,413 and spent £17,779.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | £17,413 | £17,779 | Not reported | 1 |
| 30 June 2024 | £62,566 | £64,858 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2023 | £22,202 | £31,511 | Not reported | 2 |
| 30 June 2022 | £8,408 | £4,393 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2021 | £20,315 | £39,130 | Not reported | 2 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 14%, from £20,315 in the year to 30 June 2021 to £17,413 in the year to 30 June 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 102% of its income in the year to 30 June 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 June 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
2 trustees run the charity.
- Dr ARTHUR KNIGHTChair
- Dr GETHIN MANSEL THOMAS
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | 30 April 2026 | Received 6 November 2025, 175 days early | Not required |
| 30 June 2024 | 30 April 2025 | Received 18 December 2024, 133 days early | Received 18 December 2024 |
| 30 June 2023 | 30 April 2024 | Received 23 October 2023, 190 days early | Not required |
| 30 June 2022 | 30 April 2023 | Received 22 October 2022, 190 days early | Not required |
| 30 June 2021 | 30 April 2022 | Received 29 December 2021, 122 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1081630
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 18 July 2000
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 29 JUNE 2000.
- Website
- www.rotarydoctorbank.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Vale of Glamorgan
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.