Gwasg Gregynog Limited
What it does
Printing, binding & production of fine private press books; an education service to universities, schools and others; promotion of a wider understanding of the craft and art of book printing and binding; preservation of the traditional skills of letterpress, bookbinding and related skills.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC AND FOR THE FURTHERANCE OF EDUCATION;1) THE PRESERVATION AND MAINTENANCE OF THE GWASG GREGYNOG PRESS (THE "PRESS")2) THE PRINTING, BINDING AND PRODUCTION OF FINE PRIVATE PRESS BOOKS OF LITERARY, ARTISTIC OR HISTORICAL INTEREST BY TRADITIONAL METHODS INCLUDING USING THE PRESS AND IN ADDITION USING MATERIALS OF HIGH QUALITY;3) AN EDUCATIONAL SERVICE TO THE UNIVERSITY OF WALES, SCHOOLS, COLLEGES AND OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES BY GIVING LECTURES ON THE HISTORY AND WORK OF THE PRESS AND GIVING GUIDED TOURS OF THE PRESS;4) THE PROMOTION OF A WIDER UNDERSTANDING AND APPRECIATION OF ALL ASPECTS OF THE CRAFT AND ART OF BOOK PRINTING AND BINDING BY HOLDING PERMANENT AND TEMPORARY EXHIBITIONS OF FINE BOOKS PRODUCED BY THE PRESS AND THE PRINTING TECHNIQUES USED TO PRODUCE THE BOOKS;5) THE PRESERVATION AND ENCOURAGEMENT OF THE KNOWLEDGE AND TRADITIONAL SKILLS OF LETTERPRESS, BOOKBINDING AND ASSOCIATED SKILL.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 July 2025, it had income of £3,090 and spent £13,575.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 July 2025 | £3,090 | £13,575 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 July 2024 | £58,999 | £55,851 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 July 2023 | £2,183 | £5,580 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 July 2022 | £0 | £7,161 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £72 | £102 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 4,192%, from £72 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £3,090 in the year to 31 July 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 439% of its income in the year to 31 July 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 4 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Powys County Council gave £49,914 in the year to 31 July 2024, 85% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 July 2024: £44,914 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 July 2024, the charity named 1 funder who gave £49,914. £49,914 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Jul 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Powys County Council | Council | £49,914 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Deris Davies Williams
- Emlyn Dole
- Mr Tony Harvey
- Professor Elwen Mair Evans
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 July 2025 | 31 May 2026 | Received 16 February 2026, 104 days early | Not required |
| 31 July 2024 | 31 May 2025 | Received 2 April 2025, 59 days early | Received 2 April 2025 |
| 31 July 2023 | 31 May 2024 | Received 24 April 2024, 37 days early | Not required |
| 31 July 2022 | 31 May 2023 | Received 26 April 2023, 35 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 13 December 2021, 49 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1090060
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 11 January 2002
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 23 AUGUST 1978 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 28 AUGUST 2001 AND 28 JUNE 2007
- Company number
- 01385327This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- gwasg-gregynog.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.