Swansea City Mission and Educational Trust
What it does
The Mission seeks to demonstrate Christian faith in practical ways.
Its charitable purposes
(I) ADVANCE THE CHRISTIAN RELIGION BY THE PROMOTION OF THE GOSPEL OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST THROUGHOUT SOUTH WALES AND(II) ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF YOUNG PERSONS UNDER THE AGE OF 21 THROUGHOUT THE CITY AND COUNTY OF SWANSEA IN SUCH WAYS AS WILL PROMOTE THEIR PHYSICAL MENTAL AND SPIRITUAL WELLBEING AND WHO ARE IN NEED OF SUCH EDUCATION BY VIRTUE OF THEIR SOCIAL, ECONOMIC AND SPIRITUAL NEEDS
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Accommodation and housing
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- City of Swansea
Area of benefit in its governing document: South Wales and City and County of Swansea
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £5,288 and spent £139,458.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £5,288 | £139,458 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £3,282 | £1,204,605 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £188,188 | £184,347 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 March 2022 | £232,133 | £261,446 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £140,722 | £191,770 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 96%, from £140,722 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £5,288 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 2,637% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2023: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £16,310 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £57,443 from 14 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Ian David AmbroseChair
- Cameron Thomas James Stewart
- Hugo Charles Phillip Moxey
- James David Jones
- Nigel David Binding
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 10 July 2025, 205 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 3 January 2024, 28 days early | Received 3 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 23 November 2022, 69 days early | Received 23 November 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 9 December 2021, 53 days early | Received 9 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1096720
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 26 March 2003
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 24 JANUARY 2003
- Company number
- 04646479This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.scmet.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.