Newport Chinese Community Centre
What it does
We operate as a drop-in centre, help whoever comes in with a need. We help people with anything, if we are not able to do so, we help them to seek professional assistance by providing interpreting/translating. We also support Government agencies & public organisations to delivery their services by interpreting/translating and liaising for them.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF THE CHINESE COMMUNITY IN NEWPORT AND ITS NEIGHBOURHOOD (HEREINAFTER CALLED THE "AREA OF BENEFIT") WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, RACE OR OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS, BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER THE SAID INHABITANTS AND THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY AND OTHER ORGANISATIONS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE OF THE SAID INHABITANTS..
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Religious activities
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
- Monmouthshire
- Newport City
- Torfaen
Area of benefit in its governing document: For the Benefit of the Chinese Community in Newport and Its Neighbourhood.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £17,510 and spent £19,983.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £17,510 | £19,983 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 December 2024 | £18,875 | £29,357 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2023 | £15,737 | £24,526 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 December 2022 | £34,365 | £31,634 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2021 | £35,039 | £36,328 | Not reported | 20 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 50%, from £35,039 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £17,510 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 114% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 11 grants to this charity since 2004, worth at least £684,720.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£602,320, 8 grants
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£64,900, 2 grants
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£17,500, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Jan 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,990 |
| 7 Jul 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
| 18 Dec 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £96,173 |
| 27 Sept 2017 | The National Lottery Community Fund |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
29 February 2024, Newport
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Questions to the Leader of the Council
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Mrs M L EvansChair
- Doctor Ronald Seho
- Pat Lin
- Vera Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 10 September 2026, 51 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 27 October 2025, 4 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 21 October 2024, 10 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 12 July 2023, 111 days early | Received 12 July 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 20 July 2022, 103 days early | Received 20 July 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1101922
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 5 February 2004
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 17 FEBRUARY 2003 AS AMENDED AT A MEETING DATED 16 DECEMBER 2003 AS AMENDED 5 MAY 2009.
- Website
- www.newportccc.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.