The Merthyr Tydfil and District Naturalists' Society
What it does
Society Objectives:-1. To promote animals and plants of the countryside, objects of geological, historical and archaeological interest.2. To promote the formation of Nature Reserves and to assist in their supervision.3. To foster interest in Nature Conservation through public meetings, film shows, exhibitions, publication of books, our Annual Newsletter, leaflets and general communication.
Its charitable purposes
A) TO PROMOTE AND CONTRIBUTE, FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC, TO THE CONSERVATION, PROTECTION AND IMPROVEMENT OF THE PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT, THE NATURAL ENVIRONMENT AND BIODIVERSITY.B) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN RESPECT OF CONSERVATION, PROTECTION AND IMPROVEMENT OF THE PHYSICAL AND NATURAL ENVIRONMENT AND BIODIVERSITY?
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Animals
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
- Blaenau Gwent
- Caerphilly
- Merthyr Tydfil
- Torfaen
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined. in Practice Merthyr Tydfil and District
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £48,173 and spent £54,449.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £48,173 | £54,449 | Not reported | 60 |
| 31 August 2024 | £84,071 | £74,334 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 August 2023 | £75,563 | £72,325 | Not reported | 46 |
| 31 August 2022 | £23,822 | £19,517 | Not reported | 28 |
| 31 August 2021 | £18,622 | £21,095 | Not reported | 40 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 159%, from £18,622 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £48,173 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 113% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Specific SPF Funding gave £35,591 in the year to 31 August 2025, 74% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: £35,591 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £35,591 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £4,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £10,384 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 August 2025, the charity named 1 funder who gave £35,591. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Aug 2025 | Aug 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Specific SPF Funding | Trust, company or other | £35,591 | £29,369 |
| MTCBC Active Travel | Trust, company or other | £18,000 | |
| The National Lottery Heritage Fund | National Lottery | £12,391 | |
| Beacons Bees | Trust, company or other | £5,386 | |
| Groundwork | Trust, company or other | £2,875 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £99,900.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£50,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£49,900, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 3 Mar 2022 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £50,000 |
| 11 Aug 2010 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £49,900 |
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Mrs Sue TaylorChair
- Alison Richards
- Elisabeth Brooks
- Gareth Evans
- Jemma Richards
- Lisa Handscomb
- Robert Berian Jones
- Robert Taylor
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 7 December 2025, 205 days early | Received 7 December 2025 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 6 April 2025, 85 days early | Received 6 April 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 19 May 2024, 42 days early | Received 19 May 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 8 May 2023, 53 days early | Not required |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 30 November 2021, 212 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1106927
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 23 November 2004
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 29 MAY 2002 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 4 NOVEMBER 2004AS REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 05 JUN 2019
- Company number
- 04450556This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.merthyrnats.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Merthyr Tydfil
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.