The Monmouthshire Provincial Grand Charity 2004
What it does
Making grants to Individuals in need, other masonic charities and other educational and training organisations in the masonic province of Monmouthshire ( the old county boundaries)
Its charitable purposes
(I) TO RELIEVE POVERTY AND DISTRESS WHETHER BY PAYMENTS TO HOSPITALS HOSPICES RETIREMENT HOMES OR OTHER INSTITUTIONS OR DIRECTLY TO INDIVIDUALS INCLUDING ASSISTANCE DIRECTLY TO FREEMASONS WHO ARE MEMBERS OF LODGES IN THE PROVINCE AND THEIR WIVES WIDOWS CHILDREN AND OTHER DEPENDANTS OF SUCH PERSONS BEING IN NEED OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE BY MAKING GRANTS OR IN SUCH OTHER WAY AS THE TRUSTEES SHALL THINK FIT.(II) TO ADVANCE THE RELIGIONS OF CHRISTIANITY JUDAISM ISLAM OR HINDUISM BY MAKING GRANTS TO ANY BODY RECOGNISED AS CHARITABLE IN ENGLISH LAW OR WHOSE PURPOSES ARE CHARITABLE.(III) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN PARTICULAR BY THE MAKING OF GRANTS TO CHARITABLE BODIES OR DIRECTLY TO CHURCHES, CHAPELS, SCHOOLS, COLLEGES, UNIVERSITIES OR TO INDIVIDUALS IN THE FORM OF EDUCATIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS AND BURSARIES.(IV) TO FURTHER SUCH OTHER CHARITABLE PURPOSES AS THE TRUSTEES SEE FIT FROM TIME TO TIME BY DEED OR DEEDS EXECUTED WITH THE MAJORITY CONSENT DECLARED IN PARTICULAR BUT WITHOUT LIMITATION TO THE FOREGOING BY FURTHERING THE CHARITABLE WORK OF REGISTERED MASONIC CHARITIES NAMELY: THE GRAND CHARITY, THE ROYAL MASONIC BENEVOLENT INSTITUTION, THE NEW MASONIC SAMARITAN FUND, THE MASONIC TRUST FOR GIRLS AND BOYS, THE MONMOUTHSHIRE MASONIC TRUST FUND 1997 OR SUCH OTHER CHARITIES AS SHOULD BE DESIGNATED OR BE DEEMED TO BE THEIR SUCCESSORS IN TITLE (THE CHARITIES SPECIFICALLY LISTED HEREIN SHALL NOT BE DEEMED TO BE CONSIDERED EXHAUSTIVE AND SHALL NOT RESTRICT THE TRUSTEES IN MAKING ANY CHOICE OF CHARITY).
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Religious activities
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined. in Practice England and Wales.
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 June 2025, it had income of £167,334 and spent £125,636.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | £167,334 | £125,636 | Not reported | 30 |
| 30 June 2024 | £281,047 | £395,462 | Not reported | 31 |
| 30 June 2023 | £161,595 | £139,019 | Not reported | 40 |
| 30 June 2022 | £102,717 | £79,152 | Not reported | 37 |
| 30 June 2021 | £103,847 | £79,100 | Not reported | 29 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 61%, from £103,847 in the year to 30 June 2021 to £167,334 in the year to 30 June 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 75% of its income in the year to 30 June 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 June 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Richard Geoffrey DaviesChair
- Huw Lloyd Williams
- Malcolm Fairie
- Nigel Frederick Davies
- Robert Neil Mounter FCA
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | 30 April 2026 | Received 16 April 2026, 14 days early | Received 16 April 2026 |
| 30 June 2024 | 30 April 2025 | Received 27 March 2025, 34 days early | Received 30 April 2025 |
| 30 June 2023 | 30 April 2024 | Received 2 July 2024, 63 days late | Received 2 July 2024 |
| 30 June 2022 | 30 April 2023 | Received 20 March 2023, 41 days early | Received 20 March 2023 |
| 30 June 2021 | 30 April 2022 | Received 26 April 2022, 4 days early | Received 26 April 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1108895
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 6 April 2005
- Governing document
- DECLARATION OF TRUST DATED 05 APRIL 2005
- Website
- monmouthshirefreemasons.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.