Porthmadog U3a
What it does
To advance the education of middle-aged and older people who are not in full-time gainful employment in Porthmadog and the surrounding area and to provide facilities for leisure time and recreational activities.
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND IN PARTICULAR THE EDUCATION OF PEOPLE NOT IN FULL TIME GAINFULEMPLOYMENT WHO ARE IN THEIR THIRD AGE (BEING THE PERIOD OF TIME AFTER THE FIRST AGE OFCHILDHOOD DEPENDENCE AND THE SECOND AGE OF FULL TIME EMPLOYMENT AND/OR PARENTALRESPONSIBILITY) RESIDING IN PORTHMADOG AND ITS SURROUNDING LOCALITY.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Older people
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
Where it works
- In Wales
- Gwynedd
Area of benefit in its governing document: Dwyfor and Meirionnydd and the Surrounding Locality.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £5,440 and spent £5,171.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £5,440 | £5,171 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2025 | £6,888 | £8,090 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £25,624 | £24,501 | Not reported | 23 |
| 31 March 2023 | £11,071 | £10,147 | Not reported | 22 |
| 31 March 2022 | £2,674 | £3,085 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 103%, from £2,674 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £5,440 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 95% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2024: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £3,736, awarded in 2010.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 21 Oct 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,736 |
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- Jillian Helen LawrenceChair
- Diane Frances Jackson
- Juliet Mary Charles Pritchard
- Margaret Lee
- Mary Collard
- Maureen Joy Crane
- Michael John Bird
- Patricia Newey
- Philip Albert Eckstein
- William Robert Horner Andrews
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 1 August 2026, 183 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 20 June 2025, 225 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 20 September 2024, 133 days early | Received 21 September 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 27 June 2024, 148 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 4 January 2023, 27 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1112080
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 November 2005
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 26 JUNE 2002 AS AMENDED 26 FEBRUARY 2003.AS AMENDED ON 22 FEB 2017
- Website
- www.porthmadogu3a.org.
- Council area of its contact address
- Gwynedd
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.