Bridgend Valleys Railway Company Limited
What it does
The aim of the Garw Valley Railway is to recreate for present and future generations a typical South Wales Valley branch line by providing a working railway and Heritage Centre to preserve, display and explain the industrial and social history that made this valley what it was and is today.
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE PUBLIC EDUCATION BY THE RESTORATION, PRESERVATION AND DISPLAY OF RAILWAY LOCOMOTIVES, CARRIAGES, WAGONS AND OTHER ARTEFACTS OF HISTORICAL INTEREST AND BUILDINGS CONNECTED THEREWITH, IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY THOSE CONNECTED WITH THE GARW VALLEY AND THE PRESERVATION OF BOOKS, DRAWINGS, RECORDS, DOCUMENTS, VISUAL AND SOUND RECORDINGS, CINEMATOGRAPH FILMS AND PHOTOGRAPHS RELATING TO SUCH ARTEFACTS AND VEHICLES, THEIR HISTORY AND DEVELOPMENT.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Area of benefit in its governing document: Garw Valley
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £15,793 and spent £12,981.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £15,793 | £12,981 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2024 | £16,431 | £12,970 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 March 2023 | £18,447 | £19,422 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 March 2022 | £12,844 | £18,334 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 March 2021 | £30,245 | £9,713 | Not reported | 30 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 48%, from £30,245 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £15,793 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 82% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £24,000 from 4 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2011, worth at least £14,593.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 15 Oct 2017 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
| 13 Oct 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,593 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Philip Charles StintonChair
- Andrew Hope Bowdler
- Gareth Richard Haines
- Rev MALCOLM CHARLES STINTON
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 13 October 2025, 110 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 14 October 2024, 109 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 16 May 2024, 106 days late | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 30 June 2022, 215 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 19 January 2022, 12 days early | Received 19 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1113983
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 3 May 2006
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 26 SEPTEMBER 2005 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 5 APRIL 2006 AND 20 JUNE 2009.
- Company number
- 02897214This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.garwvalleyrailway.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.