City of Wrexham Brass Band
What it does
Provides opportunities for people of all ages to learn or advance their playing of a brass or other instrument. Provides the loan of instruments. Provides tuition by the running of a youth band for children from 7 to 15 years of all abilities. Gives public performances to assist the funding of the youth and main bands and to support local community initiatives.
Its charitable purposes
1. TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF AND PROMOTE AND ENCOURAGE THE MUSICAL ARTS AND IN PARTICLAR BRASS BAND PLAYING BOTH IN THE LOCAL COMMUNITY OF CHIRK, NORTH WALES AND THE WIDER COMMUNITY WHEREVER POSSIBLE. 2. TO TAKE PART IN BRASS BAND CONTESTS, WHENEVER POSSIBLE, IN ORDER TO BOTH PROMOTE THE BAND AND TO ENSURE THE CONTINUED DEVELOPMENT OF THE BAND.3. TO RETAIN THE HERITAGE OF MINERS BRASS BANDS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Wrexham
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined. in Practice, Shropshire.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £19,696 and spent £21,128.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £19,696 | £21,128 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2024 | £18,363 | £18,773 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 March 2023 | £22,009 | £22,879 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 March 2022 | £29,771 | £29,449 | Not reported | 28 |
| 31 March 2021 | £46,039 | £42,296 | Not reported | 30 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 57%, from £46,039 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £19,696 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 107% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £1,500 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £3,000 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 4 grants to this charity since 2020, worth at least £24,873.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£18,873, 2 grants
- Steve Morgan Foundation£5,000, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£1,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 15 Sept 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,000 |
| 29 Jul 2024 | Community Foundation in Wales | £1,000 |
| 10 Nov 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,873 |
| 5 Jun 2020 | Steve Morgan Foundation | £5,000 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Jane Goff
- Louise Simons
- Scott Lloyd
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 21 January 2026, 10 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 28 January 2024, 3 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 29 January 2023, 2 days early | Received 29 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 21 January 2022, 10 days early | Received 21 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1114998
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 30 June 2006
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 21/05/2006AS AMENDED ON 23/05/2006AS AMENDED ON 21/04/2010AS AMENDED ON 10 SEP 2017 as amended on 31 Oct 2022
- Website
- www.facebook.com/CityofWrexhamBrassBand
- Council area of its contact address
- Wrexham
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.