Shalom House
What it does
Respite and palliative care centre
Its charitable purposes
I TO PROVIDE A UNIT FOR RESPITE AND PALLIATIVE CARE IN AN ENVIRONMENT OF TRANQUILLITY AND SUPPORT FOR THE INHABITANTS OF PEMBROKESHIRE.II THE RELIEF OF PHYSICAL, EMOTIONAL, SPIRITUAL AND PSYCHOLOGICAL SUFFERING OF THE PATIENT TOGETHER WITH THE PROVISION OF REST AND SUPPORT FOR THE PATIENT'S FAMILY.
Causes
- What it works on
- Health and saving lives
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Pembrokeshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Pembrokeshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £303,068 and spent £316,581.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £303,068 | £316,581 | Not reported | 31 |
| 31 March 2024 | £221,782 | £311,863 | Not reported | 31 |
| 31 March 2023 | £210,814 | £300,554 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2022 | £226,502 | £288,547 | Not reported | 29 |
| 31 March 2021 | £244,721 | £245,409 | Not reported | 12 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 24%, from £244,721 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £303,068 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 104% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 5 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 23% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£69,989).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £9,989 from 1 grant. Government contracts: £60,000 from 1 contract.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £9,989 from 1 grant | £60,000 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2024 | £10,277 from 1 grant | £60,000 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | £70,000 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2022 | Not reported | £60,000 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2021 | £93,550 from 3 grants | £34,974 from 1 contract |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 9 grants to this charity since 2018, worth at least £70,460.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£41,535, 2 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£19,580, 1 grant
- SHAREGIFT£5,000, 1 grant
- Freemasons' Charity£4,345, 5 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Jun 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £19,580 |
| 26 Feb 2024 | SHAREGIFT | £5,000 |
| 12 Feb 2024 | Freemasons' Charity | £1,200 |
| 12 Jul 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £35,700 |
| 10 Nov 2021 | Freemasons' Charity | £1,000 |
| 14 Oct 2020 | Freemasons' Charity | £1,000 |
| 30 Mar 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,835 |
| 19 Sept 2019 | Freemasons' Charity | £500 |
| 4 Oct 2018 | Freemasons' Charity | £645 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
14 November 2025, Pembrokeshire
Named in an agenda item or minute of Social Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Forward Work Programme
9 October 2025, Pembrokeshire
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Questions submitted by Councillor Joshua Beynon - Support and funding for palliative care
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
21 January 2026
Named by Gareth Davies in the Senedd
…mand are pushing services to the brink. We've already seen the consequences: beds being closed, services reduced and, tragically, hospices like Shalom House in Paul Davies's constituency closing altogether. Against that backdrop, the Welsh Government's £3 million commitment to 2025-26 simply does no…
21 January 2026
Named by Jeremy Miles in the Senedd
…understand and to support the pressures that they are facing. Recent developments underline the seriousness of those challenges. The closure of Shalom House Hospice and the temporary closure of in-patient beds at St David's Hospice in Holyhead have caused real and understandable concern for patients…
21 January 2026
Named by Paul Davies in the Senedd
…s debate. Dirprwy Lywydd, I want to reiterate that hospices are providers of expert palliative care and closures like we've seen in the case of Shalom House must be avoided wherever possible. Members will no doubt be aware of excellent hospice care being delivered in their own constituencies and reg…
21 January 2026
Named by Paul Davies in the Senedd
…be considering reducing their services, and some may even be forced to close their doors in the coming years. Unfortunately, it's too late for Shalom House, a hospice that was based in St Davids in my constituency. Shalom House closed its doors at the end of October last year, after almost two deca…
25 November 2025
Named by Mark Isherwood in the Senedd
…eed to know what the Welsh Government is doing to put them on a more sustainable footing and prevent the further closure of vital services like Shalom House Hospice in Pembrokeshire and St David's four-bed in-patient unit in Holyhead. Hospices Cymru are very grateful for the £3 million in support th…
14 October 2025
Named by Mark Isherwood in the Senedd
…ernment funding as a proportion of expenditure than in England and Scotland. St David's Hospice has been forced to close four beds in Holyhead, Shalom House Hospice in Pembrokeshire has announced its closure at the end of this month, and several other hospices are considering closures. This finance…
1 October 2025
Named by Paul Davies in the Senedd
…t Secretary, yesterday a local palliative care centre in my constituency made the difficult decision to close its doors. In a public statement, Shalom House hospice in St David's said that ongoing financial difficulties and a lack of sustainable funding meant it had no alternative but to close at th…
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- John William George PreeceChair
- Bernard John Mathias
- Dr Roger Paul Schofield
- Eleanor Thomas
- Elin Wyn D Clift
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 27 April 2026, 86 days late | Received 27 April 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 16 December 2024, 46 days early | Received 16 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 29 January 2024, 2 days early | Received 29 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 23 January 2023, 8 days early | Received 23 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 20 January 2022, 11 days early | Received 20 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1117564
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 January 2007
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 27 APRIL 2005 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION 15 MARCH 2006
- Company number
- 05437976This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.shalomstdavids.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Pembrokeshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.