Bca Independent Advocacy Services
What it does
BCA aims through independent advocacy, to empower people with a learning disability to live their lives as valued, responsible and enriched citizensWe provide a range of advocacy services through one to one work with paid advocates and volunteers, and self advocacy through groups and outreach work.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE RELIEF OF THE ELDERLY AND THE RELIEF OF PERSONS SUFFERING FROM ILLNESS OR DISABILITY WHETHER MENTAL OR PHYSICAL, PRIMARILY ON POWYS AND THE SURROUNDING AREA WHETHER LIVING IN RESIDENTIAL CARE OR RESIDING INDEPENDENTLY IN THEIR OWN HOMES OR WITH RELATIVES;1 BY ASSISTING SUCH PERSONS TO OBTAIN THEIR FULL RIGHTS AND EXERCISE FULL FREEDOM OF CHOICE;2 BY PROVIDING THEM WITH ADVOCACY SERVICES AND SUPPORT;3 BY PROVIDING ASSISTANCE AND INFORMATION.
Causes
- What it works on
- Disability
- Who it helps
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
Area of benefit in its governing document: Undefined. in Practice Powys
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £105,777 and spent £103,442.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £105,777 | £103,442 | Not reported | 9 |
| 31 March 2024 | £64,685 | £126,443 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2023 | £108,270 | £130,229 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2022 | £119,329 | £116,865 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2021 | £139,706 | £114,751 | Not reported | 13 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 24%, from £139,706 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £105,777 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 98% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £8,353 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £14,570 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £29,139 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 15 grants to this charity since 2008, worth at least £1,375,383.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£1,242,723, 8 grants
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£88,188, 3 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£25,000, 1 grant
- Garfield Weston Foundation£10,000, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£9,472, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Mar 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £25,000 |
| 19 Mar 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £15,629 |
| 18 Oct 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £4,991 |
| 11 Jan 2023 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £10,000 |
| 8 Mar 2022 | Community Foundation in Wales | £4,481 |
| 20 Mar 2018 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £55,641 |
| 20 Mar 2018 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £18,547 |
| 14 Mar 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £249,927 |
| 27 Sept 2013 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £249,835 |
| 28 Aug 2013 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £14,000 |
All 15 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Nov 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £249,950 |
| 14 Mar 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,400 |
| 28 Jul 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £249,899 |
| 24 Sept 2009 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £151,343 |
| 27 Nov 2008 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £72,740 |
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
27 November 2025
Named by Clair Swales in the Senedd
…tera. What I'm very concerned about now is that we're seeing these particular groups having to close due to financial pressures. And BCA Independent Advocacy Services in the south of Powys has recently closed this year, and that leaves a large number of people very vulnerable. We're not yet clear wh…
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Martin WealeChair
- Carol Margaret Tongue
- Geoffrey Sykes
- Rebecca Stephens
- Rev Neil Richard Jones
- Richard David Walker
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 13 January 2026, 18 days early | Received 13 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 20 October 2024, 103 days early | Received 20 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 23 January 2024, 8 days early | Received 23 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 14 November 2022, 78 days early | Received 14 November 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 18 November 2021, 74 days early | Received 18 November 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1123605
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 April 2008
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 19 FEBRUARY 2008
- Company number
- 06509168This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.bcaindependentadvocacy.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Powys
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.