Dee Trust
The latest figures on the register are for the year ending 31 December 2024, 22 months ago. Charities must report within 10 months of their year end, so its report for the following year looks overdue.
What it does
Securing the preservation,protection,development and improvement of the rivers,streams,watercourses and water bodies in the Welsh Dee catchment. Advancing the education of the public in the management of water and the wider environment.
Its charitable purposes
(A) TO SECURE THE CONSERVATION, REHABILITATION, PROTECTION AND IMPROVEMENT OF THERIVER DEE, ITS TRIBUTARIES, STREAMS AND WATERCOURSES OF EVERY DESCRIPTION AND OF THEBANKS, RIPARIAN LANDS AND ALL AREAS COMPRISING THE CATCHMENT OF THE RIVER IN ALLTHEIR ENVIRONMENTAL ASPECTS.(B) TO SECURE THE CONSERVATION (AND WHERE APPROPRIATE) THE REHABILITATION OF ALL THEINDIGENOUS SPECIES OF BIRD, ANIMAL, FISH AND PLANT LIFE IN THE SAID RIVER.(C) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE UNDERSTANDING OF RIVERS AND THE NEEDFOR A HEALTHY RIVER IN ORDER TO SUSTAIN ANIMAL, FISH AND PLANT LIFE THEREIN.(D) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE UNDERSTANDING OF THE RIVER BANK ANDITS ANIMAL AND PLANT LIFE AND THE NEED FOR CONSERVATION AND IMPROVEMENT OFENVIRONMENTS OF THE RIVER AND THE RIVER BANK.(E) TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE NEED FOR THE PROPER MANAGEMENT OFWATER.
Causes
- What it works on
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Conwy
- Denbighshire
- Wrexham
- Gwynedd
- Elsewhere
- Wirral
- Cheshire East
- Cheshire West & Chester
Area of benefit in its governing document: River Dee
Income and spending
The register has no income or spending figures for this charity.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £800,275 | £836,401 | 5 | 200 |
| 31 December 2023 | £600,693 | £696,197 | 5 | 200 |
| 31 December 2022 | £545,781 | £447,237 | 6 | 35 |
| 31 December 2021 | £471,328 | £411,060 | Not reported | 30 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 70%, from £471,328 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £800,275 in the year to 31 December 2024.
- Spending against income
- It spent 105% of its income in the year to 31 December 2024. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 4 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Natural Resources Wales gave £264,383 in the year to 31 December 2024, 33% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2024: £411,540 from 3 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2024 | £411,540 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £404,682 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £276,797 from 6 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £217,440 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2020 | £207,316 from 5 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2024
- Donations and legacies£36,630
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£466,634
- Trading and fundraising£289,349
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2024, the charity named 4 funders who gave £440,214 between them. £264,383 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Natural Resources Wales | Other public body | £264,383 | |
| Mitigation 4/saf 3 22-24 | Trust, company or other | £121,831 | £370,126 |
| Gwenfro Project | Trust, company or other | £54,000 | |
| Dee Blue recovery | Trust, company or other | £14,984 | |
| Mitigation/EMFF | Trust, company or other | £647 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 4 grants to this charity since 2018, worth at least £174,000.
By funder
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£144,000, 2 grants
- Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs£30,000, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs | £15,000 | |
| 12 Dec 2024 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £90,000 |
| 15 Nov 2023 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £54,000 |
| 1 Apr 2018 | Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs | £15,000 |
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Dr Richard Michael Lucas MBBSChair
- Andre Michael Roberts
- Caroline Jane Dawson
- Ella Hyde Johnson
- Gareth Huw Evans
- Hannah Rose Vineer
- Jonathan Moores
- nicolaus stuart Jenkins
- Stuart Mark Robinson
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Not received | No record |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 22 October 2025, 9 days early | Received 22 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 11 October 2024, 20 days early | Received 11 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 22 September 2022, 39 days early | Received 22 September 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1127999
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 11 February 2009
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 1 JULY 2008 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION 20 NOVEMBER 2008 as amended on 03 Mar 2026
- Company number
- 06635114This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.welshdeetrust.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Denbighshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.