Hen Ysgol y Ferwig
What it does
Using the former village primary school as a community centre - used by various clubs and societies and regular events organised for the benefit of the community as a whole.
Its charitable purposes
TO BENEFIT THE RESIDENTS OF Y FERWIG AND COMMUNITIES OF SOUTH CEREDIGION WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF GENDER, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, RACE OR OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER SUCH RESIDENTS AND THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY AND OTHER ORGANISATIONS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECTIVE OF IMPROVING THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR THE RESIDENTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Ceredigion
Area of benefit in its governing document: South Ceredigion
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 October 2025, it had income of £7,904 and spent £9,342.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | £7,904 | £9,342 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 October 2024 | £9,571 | £7,536 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 October 2023 | £13,888 | £6,546 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 October 2022 | £13,526 | £8,254 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 October 2021 | £2,818 | £2,747 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 180%, from £2,818 in the year to 31 October 2021 to £7,904 in the year to 31 October 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 118% of its income in the year to 31 October 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 October 2023: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 October 2022 | £5,638 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2015, worth at least £84,680.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£80,680, 2 grants
- Community Foundation in Wales£4,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 16 Aug 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £4,000 |
| 25 Oct 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £75,700 |
| 22 Oct 2015 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,980 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Delyth Mary PhillipsChair
- ANNETTE marie JONES
- Gareth Lewis
- Nona Anita Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 2 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 October 2025 | 31 August 2026 | Received 24 August 2026, 7 days early | Not required |
| 31 October 2024 | 31 August 2025 | Received 28 November 2025, 89 days late | Not required |
| 31 October 2023 | 31 August 2024 | Received 8 October 2024, 38 days late | Not required |
| 31 October 2022 | 31 August 2023 | Received 8 January 2024, 130 days late | Not required |
| 31 October 2021 | 31 August 2022 | Received 16 August 2022, 15 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1128600
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 17 March 2009
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 30 SEPTEMBER 2008 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION 23 FEBRUARY 2009
- Company number
- 06711209This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Council area of its contact address
- Ceredigion
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.