The Monmothian Charitable Trust
What it does
The objects of the Trust are for the benefit of such charitable purposes or charitable institutions within the county of Monmouthshire, The Forest of Dean and South Herefordshire at such times and in such manner and proportions as the trustees may from time to time in their discretion determine and in particular for the William Jones Foundation for the benefit of Monmouth School.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROVIDE THAT THE TRUSTEES SHALL HOLD THE CAPITAL AND INCOME OF THE TRUST FUND IN TRUST FOR SUCH CHARITIES, OR FOR SUCH CHARITABLE PURPOSES, AND IN SUCH PROPORTION, AND IN SUCH MANNER, AND SUBJECT TO SUCH TERMS AND CONDITIONS AS THE TRUSTEES MAY IN THEIR ABSOLUTELY UNCONTROLLED DISCRETION DETERMINE, AND IN PARTICULAR FOR THE WILLIAM JONES FOUNDATION FOR THE BENEFIT OF MONMOUTH SCHOOL, AND WILL HAVE REGARD TO ANY AND ALL RECOMMENDATIONS FOR BENEFIT MADE BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE CLUB OR MAKE RECOVERY AND TO PROVIDE UNDERSTANDING ASSISTANCE AND CARE FOR THE WELFARE OF PATIENTS AND THEIR FAMILIES, EITHER FREE OF CHARGE OR SUBJECT TO SUCH PAYMENT AS THE TRUSTEES OF THE COMPANY MAY THINK FIT.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Undefined. in Practice, Local.
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 April 2025, it had income of £28,977 and spent £10,649.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 April 2025 | £28,977 | £10,649 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 April 2024 | £18,658 | £12,448 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 April 2023 | £28,220 | £86,802 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 April 2022 | £18,813 | £8,582 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 April 2021 | £28,693 | £21,861 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- About the same: £28,977 in the year to 30 April 2025, against £28,693 in the year to 30 April 2021.
- Spending against income
- It spent 37% of its income in the year to 30 April 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 April 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 April 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 April 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 April 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Steven James RaikesChair
- Annabelle Cracknell-Jones
- Anthony Charles Roberts
- Anthony William Dewar Roberts
- Charles Thomas Russell Walker
- David Haydn Evans
- Roger Charles Atkins
- Simon Roger George
- William England
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 April 2025 | 28 February 2026 | Received 10 February 2026, 18 days early | Received 17 February 2026 |
| 30 April 2024 | 28 February 2025 | Received 2 December 2024, 88 days early | Not required |
| 30 April 2023 | 29 February 2024 | Received 17 October 2023, 135 days early | Received 17 October 2023 |
| 30 April 2022 | 28 February 2023 | Received 20 January 2023, 39 days early | Not required |
| 30 April 2021 | 28 February 2022 | Received 3 January 2022, 56 days early | Received 3 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1129186
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 April 2009
- Governing document
- DECLARATION OF TRUST MADE 26 MARCH 2009 as amended on 23 Jun 2017 as amended on 10 Dec 2011
- Website
- www.oldmonmothians.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Monmouthshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.