Mumbles Methodist Church
What it does
Mumbles Methodist Church is a constituent church of the Methodist 'Connexion' within the Swansea and Gower Circuit which in turn is part of the Wales Methodist Synod.The activities of the congregation fall into four main areas:- Worship; Pastoral Care; Learning and Development; and Mission and Outreach.
Its charitable purposes
The purposes of the Methodist Church are and shall be deemed to have been since the date of union the advancement of -(a) the Christian faith in accordance with the doctrinal standards and the dicipline of the Methodist Church;(b) any charitable purpose for the time being of any Connexional, district, circuit, local or other organisation of the Methodist Church;(c) any charitable purpose for the time being of any society or institution subsiduary or ancillary to the Methodist Church;(d) any purpose for the time being of any charity being a charity subsidiary or ancillary to the Methodist Church.
Causes
- What it works on
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- City of Swansea
Area of benefit in its governing document: Undefined. in Practice, Local.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £122,077 and spent £116,497.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £122,077 | £116,497 | Not reported | 80 |
| 31 August 2024 | £102,240 | £129,607 | Not reported | 92 |
| 31 August 2023 | £103,248 | £105,200 | Not reported | 94 |
| 31 August 2022 | £120,372 | £147,484 | Not reported | 95 |
| 31 August 2021 | £136,177 | £124,485 | Not reported | 115 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 10%, from £136,177 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £122,077 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 95% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2022 | £10,447 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £31,295 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2002, worth at least £782,500.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 20 Jul 2020 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £14,000 |
| 15 Mar 2002 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £768,500 |
Trustees
22 trustees run the charity.
- Rev Howard David LongChair
- Alison Alderman
- Alison Newnham
- Andrew Crimp
- Carole Wooldridge
- Caroline Buckler
- Caroline Mary Morgan Ba Pgce Ma
- David John Boakes
- Dr RUTH HOPKINS
- Geoffrey Bernard Maddock
- Gill Watson
- Julia Walters
- Julian Myers
- Katie Bird
- Lee Ellery
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 16 March 2026, 106 days early | Received 16 March 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 19 June 2025, 11 days early | Received 19 June 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 20 June 2024, 10 days early | Received 20 June 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 9 June 2023, 21 days early | Received 9 June 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 29 May 2022, 32 days early | Received 29 May 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1129281
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 23 April 2009
- Governing document
- DEED OF UNION (1932) AND METHODIST CHURCH ACT (1976)
- Website
- www.mumblesmethodist.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Swansea
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.