The D-day Revisited Society
What it does
The relief of former members of the Armed Forces of the Crown who served during WWII. The commemoration of those who died while on active service, through an annual visit to Normandy for veterans of the D-Day landings. The education of the public, especially younger generations, in the history of WWII in particular through the memories of veterans.
Its charitable purposes
THE TRUSTEES MUST APPLY THE INCOME OF THE CHARITY IN FURTHERING THE FOLLOWING OBJECTS (¶THE OBJECTS÷): 1. THE RELIEF OF FORMER MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE CROWN WHO ARE IN NEED BY VIRTUE OF FINANCIAL HARDSHIP, SICKNESS, DISABILITY OR THE EFFECTS OF OLD AGE AND WHO ARE: A. VETERANS OF THE D-DAY LANDINGS IN NORMANDY; OR B. VETERANS OF OTHER CONFLICTS IN WHICH HM ARMED FORCES WERE INVOLVED; 2. THE COMMEMORATION AND REMEMBRANCE OF MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES OF THE CROWN WHO DIED WHILE ON ACTIVE SERVICE AND THE ENCOURAGEMENT OF PUBLIC RECOGNITION OF THE SACRIFICE MADE BY SUCH PERSONS; 3. THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE HISTORY OF WORLD WAR II IN PARTICULAR THROUGH THE STORIES AND MEMORIES OF THOSE PERSONS WHO WERE SERVING IN THE ARMED FORCES OF THE CROWN DURING WORLD WAR II."
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides other finance
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Scotland
- Northern Ireland
- France
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £0 and spent £13,620.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £0 | £13,620 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £133,947 | £117,136 | Not reported | 8 |
| 31 December 2023 | £20,024 | £50,347 | Not reported | 2 |
| 31 December 2022 | £125 | £74,491 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £64 | £35,277 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 209,192%, from £64 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £133,947 in the year to 31 December 2024.
- Spending against income
- It spent 87% of its income in the year to 31 December 2024. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 4 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2024: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2009, worth at least £121,670.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 24 Nov 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £39,305 |
| 16 May 2013 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £34,115 |
| 7 Feb 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,050 |
| 27 Mar 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £7,625 |
| 28 Oct 2009 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £37,575 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Jonathan Harry PhippsChair
- Janet Mottrom
- Victoria Phipps
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 29 October 2026, 2 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 29 October 2025, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 30 October 2024, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 30 October 2023, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 31 October 2022 | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1129753
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 20 May 2009
- Governing document
- TRUST DEED 20 MAY 2009
- Website
- www.d-dayrevisited.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Flintshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.