THE PURPOSES OF THE METHODIST CHURCH ARE AND SHALL BE DEEMED TO HAVE BEEN SINCE THE DATE OF UNION THE ADVANCEMENT OF -(A) THE CHRISTIAN FAITH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE DOCTRINAL STANDARDS AND THE DISCIPLINE OF THE METHODIST CHURCH;(B) ANY CHARITABLE PURPOSE FOR THE TIME BEING OF ANY CONNEXIONAL, DISTRICT, CIRCUIT, LOCAL OR OTHER ORGANISATION OF THE METHODIST CHURCH;(C) ANY CHARITABLE PURPOSE FOR THE TIME BEING OF ANY SOCIETY OR INSTITUTION SUBSIDIARY OR ANCILLARY TO THE METHODIST CHURCH;(D) ANY PURPOSE FOR THE TIME BEING OF ANY CHARITY BEING A CHARITY SUBSIDIARY OR ANCILLARY TO THE METHODIST CHURCH.
From its governing document, as recorded on the register.
Causes
What it works on
Religious activities
Who it helps
The general public
How it works
Acts as an umbrella or resource body
The charity chose these from the Charity Commission's list.
Where it works
In Wales
Caerphilly
Cardiff
Area of benefit in its governing document: Undefined. in Practice, Local.
The places the charity told the Commission it works in.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £419,292 and spent £421,726.
Income, spending, staff and volunteers by financial year
Year ending
Income
Spending
Paid staff
Volunteers
31 August 2025
£419,292
£421,726
Not reported
10
31 August 2024
£1,819,858
£650,599
10
10
31 August 2023
£547,442
£639,913
10
75
31 August 2022
£450,559
£367,143
Not reported
200
31 August 2021
£510,010
£531,326
4
120
Figures as the charity reported them to the Charity Commission. Staff and volunteer numbers are only asked of charities with income over £10,000. A year with no row was not reported.
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
Income over time
Down 18%, from £510,010 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £419,292 in the year to 31 August 2025.
Spending against income
It spent 101% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
From the annual returns the charity filed with the Charity Commission. The largest funder comes from its accounts, read by AI.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
Income from government grants and contracts by financial year
Year ending
Government grants
Government contracts
31 August 2025
Not reported
Not reported
31 August 2024
£300,000 from 1 grant
Not reported
31 August 2023
Not reported
Not reported
From the charity's annual return to the Charity Commission, which asks every charity with income over £10,000 how much came from government grants and contracts. It does not say which part of government. These totals are separate from the named funders read from its accounts and the grants published on 360Giving, and are not added to them.
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 August 2024
Donations and legacies£655,058
Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£305,786
Investments£114,017
Other£744,997
From the charity's annual return. Only charities with income over £500,000 give this breakdown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 15 grants to this charity since 2017, worth at least £1,519,292.
Only funders that publish their grants to 360Giving are included, and many do not. These are amounts funders awarded, which can differ from what the charity received in a given year, so they are shown apart from the accounts figures above.
By funder
The National Lottery Heritage Fund£1,200,080, 1 grant
National Churches Trust£104,361, 3 grants
The National Lottery Community Fund£59,981, 5 grants
The Joseph Rank Trust£50,000, 1 grant
Benefact Trust£50,000, 1 grant
Garfield Weston Foundation£35,000, 2 grants
Coop Foundation£10,000, 1 grant
Community Foundation in Wales£9,870, 1 grant
Grants awarded, newest first
Awarded
Grant
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £300,000 between 10 October 2023 and 27 February 2024.
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Councils and Welsh Government publish what they pay suppliers and grant holders above a threshold, usually £500 for councils and £25,000 for Welsh Government, so smaller payments are missing. A payment is shown only when OpenEconomy matched it to this charity with certainty. These figures come from the payer's records. They are a separate measure from the charity's own accounts, 360Giving grants and its annual return, and are never added to them.
Trustees
53 trustees run the charity.
Rev CATHY GALEChairAppointed 1 September 2017
Alison LewisAppointed 1 December 2025
Allison Patricia HillAppointed 25 February 2014
Andrew CrossAppointed 1 May 2015
Andrew TylerAppointed 1 September 2024
Angela BaileyAppointed 1 March 2024
Ann CrossAppointed 1 May 2015
Anthony Paul Thomas
Bethany Jane BarryAppointed 1 September 2020
Beverley-Jayne WalkerAppointed 1 December 2025
Catherine DoddAppointed 19 February 2019
Christopher MarkallAppointed 1 September 2019
Deborah WittsAppointed 1 June 2022
Derek Perkins
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
When each year's annual return and accounts were due and received
Year ending
Due
Annual return
Accounts
31 August 2025
30 June 2026
Received 26 June 2026, 4 days early
Received 26 June 2026
31 August 2024
30 June 2025
Received 27 June 2025, 3 days early
Received 27 June 2025
31 August 2023
30 June 2024
Received 21 June 2024, 9 days early
Received 21 June 2024
31 August 2022
30 June 2023
Received 21 June 2023, 9 days early
Received 21 June 2023
31 August 2021
30 June 2022
Received 22 June 2022, 8 days early
Received 22 June 2022
Charities with income over £10,000 send an annual return within 10 months of their year end, and those over £25,000 also send their accounts. Smaller charities only update their income and spending on the register. The dates are when the Commission received each document.
About this charity
Charity number
1134236
Status
Registered
Registered with the Commission
10 February 2010
Governing document
DEED OF UNION (1932) AND METHODIST CHURCH ACT (1976)
Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.