Celynen Collieries Institute and Memorial Hall Limited (Company No. 07295916)
What it does
The object of the charity is the provision of an institute and memorial hall for the benefit of the inhabitants (as are members of the mining community) of Newbridge and surrounding area with the object of improving the conditions of life for the said inhabitants. Also, the promotion of education by the preservation of buildings or sites of historic or architectural importance.
Its charitable purposes
1 THE PROVISION OF AN INSTITUTE AND MEMORIAL HALL FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS (AND IN PARTICULAR, BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY, SUCH OF THE SAID INHABITANTS AS ARE MEMBERS OF THE MINING COMMUNITY) OF THE AREA OF BENEFIT WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS2 THE PROMOTION OF EDUCATION BY THE PRESERVATION OF BUILDINGS OR SITES OF HISTORIC OR ARCHITECTURAL IMPORTANCE
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Caerphilly
Area of benefit in its governing document: Undefined. in Practice, Local.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £158,815 and spent £260,766.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £158,815 | £260,766 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £198,882 | £310,906 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 December 2023 | £108,428 | £213,721 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £100,805 | £212,087 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £59,737 | £207,690 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 166%, from £59,737 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £158,815 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 164% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 5 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 58% of its income in the year to 31 December 2022 came from government grants and contracts (£58,172).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: £21,350 from 1 contract.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | £21,350 from 1 contract |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | £54,172 from 2 contracts |
| 31 December 2022 | £4,000 from 1 grant | £54,172 from 2 contracts |
| 31 December 2021 | £10,000 from 1 grant | £45,594 from 3 contracts |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 16 grants to this charity since 2009, worth at least £4,537,604.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£3,860,786, 7 grants
- The National Lottery Community Fund£553,055, 5 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£100,000, 2 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£19,173, 1 grant
- The Grocers' Charity£4,590, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 16 Jun 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,657 |
| 17 Sept 2025 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £207,503 |
| 6 Dec 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,063 |
| 28 Jun 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £19,173 |
| 7 Mar 2024 | The Grocers' Charity | £4,590 |
| 23 Feb 2024 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £50,000 |
| 23 Feb 2024 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £50,000 |
| 13 Nov 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,935 |
| 7 Mar 2023 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £159,483 |
| 20 Jul 2020 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £33,300 |
All 16 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 26 Mar 2020 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £99,000 |
| 12 Jul 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £8,400 |
| 31 May 2018 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £10,000 |
| 11 Oct 2011 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £24,900 |
| 26 Nov 2009 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £500,000 |
| 21 Jul 2009 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £3,326,600 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- James Clayton-JonesChair
- Gareth Cartwright
- Jordan Day-Williams
- Leanne Baker
- Robert Mettyer
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 29 October 2026, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 30 October 2025, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 30 October 2024, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 | Received 31 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 29 December 2022, 59 days late | Received 29 December 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1137112
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 27 July 2010
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 25 JUNE 2010
- Company number
- 07295916This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.newbridgememo.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Caerphilly
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.