The Royal Mint Museum
What it does
The advancement of education of the public in the history of coinage and related artefacts and of the activities of the Royal Mint.
Its charitable purposes
THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE HISTORY OF THE COINAGE AND RELATED ARTEFACTS AND OF THE ACTIVITIES OF THE ROYAL MINT AND ITS PREDECESSORS, AND IN PARTICULAR, BUT WITHOUT LIMITATION TO THE FOREGOING BY:A) ESTABLISHING AND MAINTAINING MUSEUM(S) AND/OR ARCHIVES FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC, AND IN PURSUIT OF THAT OBJECT:(I) COLLECTING COINAGE ARTEFACTS AND RELATED COIN MATERIAL TO A PUBLISHING POLICY AGREED BY THE COMPANY;(II) MANAGING, DOCUMENTING, CONSERVING AND SAFEGUARDING THE NATIONAL COIN COLLECTION AND OTHER HOLDINGS TO THE HIGHEST APPROPRIATE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS;(III) EXHIBITING, INTERPRETING AND PROVIDING ACCESS TO THE COLLECTION;B) RESTORING, EXHIBITING AND PRESERVING OBJECTS ASSOCIATED WITH THE HISTORY OF THE COINAGE AND RELATED ARTEFACTS AND THE ACTIVITIES OF THE ROYAL MINT AND ITS PREDECESSORS; ANDC) PROTECTING AND ENHANCING THE NUMISMATIC HERITAGE OF THE UNITED KINGDOM INCLUDING IN PARTICULAR THAT OF THE ROYAL MINT AND ITS PREDECESSORS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
- Scotland
- Northern Ireland
Area of benefit in its governing document: United Kingdom
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £769,404 and spent £699,304.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £769,404 | £699,304 | 0 | 2 |
| 31 March 2024 | £924,353 | £646,921 | 0 | 2 |
| 31 March 2023 | £838,468 | £598,177 | 0 | 2 |
| 31 March 2022 | £796,120 | £575,413 | 0 | 3 |
| 31 March 2021 | £977,333 | £472,412 | 0 | 3 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 21%, from £977,333 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £769,404 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 91% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- The Royal Mint Limited gave £94,255 in the year to 31 March 2025, 12% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£156,275
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£95,975
- Trading and fundraising£486,887
- Investments£13,114
- Other£17,153
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 1 funder who gave £94,255. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Royal Mint Limited | Trust, company or other | £94,255 | £289,514 | £190,518 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Professor Sir David Nicholas CannadineChair
- Amanda Jane Brady
- Anna Brennand
- Dafydd Rhys James
- Dr Swati Dhingra
- Mario Pisani
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 3 February 2026, 3 days late | Received 3 February 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 15 December 2022, 47 days early | Received 15 December 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 26 October 2021, 97 days early | Received 26 October 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1138877
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 9 November 2010
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 25 AUGUST 2010
- Company number
- 07105875This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.royalmintmuseum.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.