Bishopston Play Association
What it does
The charity provides a summer playscheme in school summer holidays.It is open access scheme for children aged 5 to 13, under 5's can attend with a responsible adult. The children participate in a range of play opportunities including den building; hammock making; fire making and cooking; art and craft activities; giant maze play both in and on it and anything else the children want to do.
Its charitable purposes
THE CHARITY'S OBJECTS ARE TO PROVIDE AND ASSIST IN THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES AND SERVICES FOR PLAY, RECREATION, EDUCATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION FOR ALL CHILDREN RESIDENT IN WALES THESE BEING FACILITIES AND SERVICES -(I) OF WHICH SUCH CHILDREN HAVE NEED BY REASON OF THEIR YOUTH, POVERTY OR SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES(II) WHICH WILL IMPROVE THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR SUCH CHILDREN BY PROMOTING THEIR PHYSICAL, MENTAL AND SPIRITUAL WELL BEING.
Causes
- What it works on
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- City of Swansea
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £16,151 and spent £18,229.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £16,151 | £18,229 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2024 | £10,518 | £15,932 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2023 | £11,837 | £13,895 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 March 2022 | £1,896 | £3,521 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £13,927 | £4,165 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 16%, from £13,927 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £16,151 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 113% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £8,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £8,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £5,100 from 5,100 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £8,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £3,900 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2011, worth at least £7,010.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 22 Jun 2017 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,800 |
| 25 Jan 2015 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,410 |
| 28 Apr 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,800 |
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Andora Wild Miss
- Deborah Montague
- Katherine Brigid Mattingly
- Katie Greenaway
- Mike Greenaway
- Rosie Greenaway
- Sue Bradshaw
- Teresa De Vall
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 21 January 2026, 10 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 24 January 2025, 7 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 29 January 2024, 2 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 31 October 2022, 92 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 29 January 2022, 2 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1142286
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 7 June 2011
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 05/05/2011
- Website
- bishopstonplayscheme.wordpress.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Swansea
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.