Penydarren Boys and Girls Club
What it does
The objectives of the club are to educate boys and girls resident in the area of Merthyr Tydfil through their leisure time occupation so as to develop their physical, mental and spiritual capacities that they may grow to full maturity as individuals and members of society and that their conditions of life may be improved upon.
Its charitable purposes
TO FURTHER THE DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION OF BOYS AND YOUNG MEN AND GIRLS AND YOUNG WOMEN THROUGH THEIR LEISURE-TIME ACTIVITIES SO AS TO HELP THEM ACHIEVE THEIR PHYSICAL, MENTAL AND SPIRITUAL POTENTIAL SO THAT THEY MAY GROW TO FULL MATURITY AS INDIVIDUALS AND MEMBERS OF SOCIETY AND THAT THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE MAY BE IMPROVED.
Causes
- What it works on
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Merthyr Tydfil
Area of benefit in its governing document: In Practice Penydarren
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 June 2025, it had income of £166,887 and spent £152,577.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | £166,887 | £152,577 | Not reported | 75 |
| 30 June 2024 | £143,377 | £94,214 | Not reported | 60 |
| 30 June 2023 | £107,870 | £67,488 | Not reported | 55 |
| 31 March 2022 | £570,680 | £558,884 | 0 | 55 |
| 31 March 2021 | £30,292 | £18,439 | Not reported | 56 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 451%, from £30,292 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £166,887 in the year to 30 June 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 91% of its income in the year to 30 June 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 June 2025: £34,770 from 3 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | £34,770 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 30 June 2024 | £20,460 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 30 June 2023 | £1,000 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £548,035 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2022
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£565,167
- Investments£13
- Other£5,500
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £6,000, awarded in 2012.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Jun 2012 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £6,000 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £250,000 between 27 May 2021 and 1 December 2021.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £250,000 | 2 | 2021/22 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Andrew Thomas
- Clive Barsi M.B.E
- David Cooper
- Peter Thomas
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | 30 April 2026 | Received 30 April 2026 | Received 30 April 2026 |
| 30 June 2024 | 30 April 2025 | Received 8 April 2025, 22 days early | Received 8 April 2025 |
| 30 June 2023 | 30 April 2024 | Received 8 April 2024, 22 days early | Received 8 April 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 26 May 2023, 115 days late | Received 26 May 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 18 January 2022, 13 days early | Received 8 April 2024 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1143028
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 22 July 2011
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 15/02/2011
- Company number
- 07538887This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.clubwebsite.co.uk/penydarrenboysgirlsclub
- Council area of its contact address
- Merthyr Tydfil
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.