The Pant and Dowlais Community Engine House
What it does
To preserve and conserve the Grade 2 listed building for the future benefit of the community.
Its charitable purposes
3 THE CHARITY’S OBJECTS (THE OBJECTS) ARE TO FURTHER SUCH CHARITABLE PURPOSES FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC THE DIRECTORS SEE FIT IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT LIMITED TO:3.1 THE ADVANCEMENT OF GOOD CITIZENSHIP;3.2 THE PREVENTION AND RELIEF OF POVERTY;3.3 THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION;3.4 THE ADVANCEMENT OF GOOD HEALTH AND THE PROMOTION OF HEALTHY RECREATION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY THE PLAYING OF SPORTS;3.5 TO ADVANCE IN LIFE, ACT AS A RESOURCE FOR AND HELP YOUNG PEOPLE;3.6 TO PROVIDE, IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE, FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATIONS FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT; AND3.7 TO PRESERVE AND CONSERVE FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT THE PANT & DOWLAIS ENGINE HOUSE.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Merthyr Tydfil
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £178 and spent £197.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £178 | £197 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £164 | £240 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £273 | £232 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £43 | £128 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £57 | £111 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 212%, from £57 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £178 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 111% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Gerald Brian BeattieChair
- Clive Barsi M.B.E
- Gareth Davies
- Jason Launchbury
- Kenneth Davies
- Louise Davies
- Patricia Weaver
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 30 January 2026, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 30 January 2025, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 16 January 2024, 15 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 20 January 2023, 11 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 6 January 2022, 25 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1143385
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 August 2011
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 03/11/2008AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 31/07/2009AS AMENDED BY ORDER DATED 27/07/2011
- Company number
- 06739110This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Council area of its contact address
- Merthyr Tydfil
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.