Golden Grove Trust
What it does
Acquire, restore and conserve for the Community and Public Benefit the historic buildings known as Golden Grove, together with its historic Gardens, Arboretum, surrounding Gardens and Parkland known as Gelli Aur. Additionally, provide opportunities for education, leisure, well-being, or other identified local charitable needs, by maintaining public access and ensure it is sustainably maintained.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROVIDE ACTIVITIES WHICH BENEFIT THE LOCAL AND WIDER COMMUNITY AND IN PARTICULAR (WITHOUT LIMITATION) TO:- ACQUIRE, RESTORE AND CONSERVE FOR THE COMMUNITY AND PUBLIC BENEFIT THE HISTORIC BUILDINGS KNOWN AS GOLDEN GROVE, CARMARTHEN, TOGETHER WITH ITS HISTORIC GARDENS, ARBORETUM, SURROUNDING GARDENS AND PARKLAND KNOWN AS GELLI AUR, AND ASSOCIATED BUILDINGS AND STRUCTURES. - PROVIDE OPPORTUNITIES FOR EDUCATION, LEISURE, WELL-BEING, OR OTHER IDENTIFIED LOCAL NEEDS WHICH ARE EXCLUSIVELY CHARITABLE, BY MAINTAINING AND MANAGING PUBLIC ACCESS TO AND USE OF THIS SPACE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE LOCAL AND WIDER COMMUNITY, AS WELL AS ENSURING THAT IT IS SUSTAINABLY MANAGED FOR THE FUTURE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Carmarthen
Income and spending
In the year ending 27 February 2025, it had income of £69,950 and spent £61,372.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27 February 2025 | £69,950 | £61,372 | Not reported | 30 |
| 28 February 2024 | £123,362 | £107,743 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 August 2022 | £57,061 | £111,832 | Not reported | 3 |
| 31 August 2021 | £91,358 | £109,328 | Not reported | 9 |
| 31 August 2020 | £32,287 | £115,352 | Not reported | 3 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 117%, from £32,287 in the year to 31 August 2020 to £69,950 in the year to 27 February 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 88% of its income in the year to 27 February 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 27 February 2025: £44,450 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 27 February 2025 | £44,450 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 28 February 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £43,855 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2020 | £8,695 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 1 payment to this charity worth £31,723, on 22 October 2025.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £31,723 | 1 | 2025/26 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
4 June 2024, Carmarthenshire
Named in a decision of Cabinet Member for Deputy Leader and Regeneration, Leisure, Culture and Tourism
FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FROM THE FOLLOWING GRANT FUNDS: RURAL INNOVATION FUND
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- James Johnathon SmithChair
- Paul Anthony Cleaver
- Sandra John
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 27 February 2025 | 27 December 2025 | Received 6 March 2026, 69 days late | Received 6 March 2026 |
| 28 February 2024 | 28 December 2024 | Received 25 November 2024, 33 days early | Received 25 November 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 7 July 2023, 7 days late | Received 7 July 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 29 June 2022, 1 day early | Received 29 June 2022 |
| 31 August 2020 | 30 June 2021 | Received 30 June 2021 | Received 30 June 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1143416
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 17 August 2011
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 10/08/2011AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 09 NOV 2023
- Company number
- 07736018This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.goldengrove.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.