Arts & Business Cymru
What it does
Our role is to promote, enable & develop mutually beneficial partnerships between business & the arts. Including promotion of philanthropy amongst businesses & individuals; promotion of partnerships between arts organisations & businesses, provision of training & promotion of best practice & governance. Its ultimate aim is to aid the success of both sectors for the good of Wales.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECTS OF THE CHARITY ARE TO PROMOTE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC, WITHIN THE COUNTRY OF WALES, THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE ARTS, CULTURE AND HERITAGE AND THE PROMOTION OF THE EFFICIENCY OF CHARITIES, IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE PROMOTION OF PHILANTHROPY AMONGST BUSINESSES AND INDIVIDUALS; THE PROMOTION OF PARTNERSHIPS BETWEEN ARTS ORGANISATIONS AND BUSINESSES; AND THE PROVISION OF TRAINING TO AND PROMOTION OF BEST PRACTICE IN THE GOVERNANCE OF, WELSH ARTS CHARITIES.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £437,273 and spent £426,483.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £437,273 | £426,483 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £435,195 | £417,139 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £467,745 | £478,909 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £458,687 | £453,905 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £400,931 | £392,352 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 9%, from £400,931 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £437,273 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 98% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £40,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £40,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £40,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £140,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £178,676 from 4 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £131,752 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Moondance Foundation | 30 November 2023 | £55,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 7 grants to this charity since 2017, worth at least £446,000.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£235,000, 1 grant
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£110,000, 2 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£101,000, 4 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 9 Sept 2025 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £235,000 |
| 6 Feb 2023 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £10,000 |
| 22 Apr 2022 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £30,000 |
| 30 Mar 2022 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £100,000 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £235 between 16 September 2025 and 12 May 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monmouthshire County Council | £235 | 2 | 2025/26, 2026/27 |
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
22 June 2022
Named in a ministerial meeting or engagement: Dep Min for AS & CW
Purpose: Arts & Business Cymru.
Arts & Business Cymru
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Adrian Morgan Jones
- Claire Charlton
- Jen Angharad
- Louisa Scadden
- Nkechi Allen Dawson
- Paul Dylan Ralley
- Siobhan Maxine Norley Saunders
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 20 January 2026, 11 days early | Received 20 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 17 January 2025, 14 days early | Received 17 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 21 January 2024, 10 days early | Received 21 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 6 January 2023, 25 days early | Received 6 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 12 January 2022, 19 days early | Received 12 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1143772
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 September 2011
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 08/09/2011
- Company number
- 07767380This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.aandbcymru.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.