The Greek Orthodox Community of Saint Barbara the Great Martyr
What it does
To promote the Greek Orthodox faith, to advance public education and to relieve poverty, sickness and distress and to provide facilities in the interest of social welfare for recreation and leisure time activities with the object of improving the conditions of life for the inhabitants of the county of Cheshire and its environs.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE GREEK ORTHODOX FAITH, TO ADVANCE PUBLIC EDUCATION AND TO RELIEVE POVERTY, SICKNESS AND DISTRESS AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE INHABITANTS OF THE COUNTY OF CHESHIRE AND ITS ENVIRONS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Overseas aid and famine relief
- Religious activities
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Denbighshire
- Flintshire
- Elsewhere
- Liverpool City
- Wirral
- Cheshire East
- Cheshire West & Chester
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £29,367 and spent £22,206.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £29,367 | £22,206 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 August 2024 | £36,546 | £23,434 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 August 2023 | £28,064 | £20,280 | Not reported | 5 |
| 31 August 2022 | £18,030 | £16,949 | Not reported | 1 |
| 31 August 2021 | £20,126 | £14,012 | Not reported | 1 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 46%, from £20,126 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £29,367 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 76% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Theodoros PapadopoulosChair
- Andrea Vaida
- Archbishop Nikitas Lioulias
- Lidia Critchley
- Natalia Septelici
- Sergiu Orbu
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 15 June 2026, 15 days early | Received 15 June 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 26 June 2025, 4 days early | Received 26 June 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 17 June 2024, 13 days early | Received 17 June 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 23 January 2023, 158 days early | Not required |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 30 March 2022, 92 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1144751
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 22 November 2011
- Governing document
- TRUST DEED DATED 25 SEP 2011
- Website
- www.stbarbara.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Flintshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.