Swansea Minster
What it does
The church as a charity raises money for Christian Aid, Royal British Legion (Remembrance Day), Armed Forces, Bishop's appeals (various). Missionary work via the Church and the benefice as a whole.
Its charitable purposes
PROMOTING IN THE ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH THE WHOLE MISSION OF THE CHURCH
Causes
- What it works on
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- City of Swansea
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £562,554 and spent £380,499.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £562,554 | £380,499 | 0 | 30 |
| 31 December 2024 | £97,923 | £111,220 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 December 2023 | £117,367 | £112,600 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2022 | £68,131 | £78,164 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2021 | £90,073 | £119,916 | Not reported | 16 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 525%, from £90,073 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £562,554 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 68% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £4,970 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £2,250 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2025
- Donations and legacies£513,507
- Trading and fundraising£33,780
- Investments£14,795
- Other£472
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
20 October 2025, Swansea
Named in an agenda item or minute of Armed Forces Community Covenant Signatories Panel
Update from MOD.
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Helen Murray
- Paul Derrick Murray
- Rev Justin Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 4 June 2026, 149 days early | Received 4 June 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 21 March 2025, 224 days early | Received 21 March 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 30 May 2024, 154 days early | Received 30 May 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 8 June 2023, 145 days early | Received 16 July 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 2 November 2022, 2 days late | Received 2 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1146299
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 8 March 2012
- Governing document
- PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL POWERS MEASURE (1956) AS AMENDED AND CHURCH REPRESENTATION RULES THAT CAME INTO FORCE ON 02/01/1956 as amended on 16 May 2023 as amended on 01 Jan 2026
- Website
- www.swanseastmary.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Swansea
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.