The Aloud Charity
What it does
The Charity is an umbrella organisation that devises, manages and delivers the activity of Only Boys Aloud, Only Girls Aloud, and Only Kids Aloud, and exists to promote and develop choral signing as a vibrant and essential element in the cultural landscape of Wales.
Its charitable purposes
THE CHARITY’S OBJECTS (“OBJECTS”) ARE TO PROMOTE AND ADVANCE PUBLIC EDUCATION IN MUSIC BY ENCOURAGING THE PARTICIPATION OF THE PUBLIC IN SINGING THROUGH GROUP SINGING ACTIVITIES INCLUDING THE FORMATION OF CHOIRS AND THE PRESENTATION OF CONCERTS TO MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- The general public
- How it works
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £482,473 and spent £373,189.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £482,473 | £373,189 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 August 2024 | £431,186 | £575,402 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 August 2023 | £597,538 | £627,560 | 8 | 10 |
| 31 August 2022 | £609,538 | £591,976 | 10 | 20 |
| 31 August 2021 | £396,603 | £333,075 | Not reported | 15 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 22%, from £396,603 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £482,473 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 77% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Arts Council Job Protection Fund gave £143,333 in the year to 31 August 2025, 30% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: £144,333 from 2 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £144,333 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | £89,732 from 8 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £28,000 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2022 | £87,524 from 7 grants | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £49,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 August 2023
- Donations and legacies£78,551
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£465,692
- Trading and fundraising£52,087
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 August 2025, the charity named 5 funders who gave £202,333 between them. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Aug 2025 | Aug 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arts Council Job Protection Fund | Trust, company or other | £143,333 | £17,917 |
| Mosawi | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | £25,000 |
| Mosawi's Junior Voices | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | |
| Festival Interceltique de Loreint | Trust, company or other | £6,500 | £6,500 |
| Groundwork | Trust, company or other | £2,500 | |
| Hodge Foundation | Trust, company or other |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 15 grants to this charity since 2015, worth at least £507,900.
By funder
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£180,000, 3 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£125,000, 4 grants
- The Tudor Trust£92,000, 3 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£90,000, 2 grants
- Community Foundation in Wales£10,900, 2 grants
- Westminster Foundation£10,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 8 Oct 2025 | Postcode Community Trust | £50,000 |
| 25 Nov 2024 | Postcode Community Trust |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Brandon HamChair
- Dr Ian James Rees
- Elizabeth Sarah Ann Smith Jones
- Julia Barry
- Lisa Tregale
- Rhian Angharad Davies
- Rosie Denise Sweetman
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 2 March 2026, 120 days early | Received 2 March 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 13 February 2025, 137 days early | Received 13 February 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 19 December 2023, 194 days early | Received 19 December 2023 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 26 April 2023, 65 days early | Received 26 April 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 25 May 2022, 36 days early | Received 25 May 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1147922
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 3 July 2012
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 15 NOV 2011AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 17 JAN 2017 as amended on 12 Apr 2022
- Company number
- 08116295This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.thealoudcharity.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.