Castleton and District Village Hall
What it does
Our Village Hall is booked every day of the week and the activities range from Rifle Club, Womens Institute, Cubs/Scouts and Judo classes.and on Saturday and Sunday mornings there are dance classes. The overall age range is from 3 yrs - 85 yrs. At weekends we also have parties booked. There is also a playgroup at the Hall operating 5 days a week.
Its charitable purposes
THE PROVISION AND MAINTENANCE OF A VILLAGE HALL FOR THE USE OF THE INHABITANTS OF CASTLETON AND DISTRICT WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS,INCLUDING USE FOR MEETINGS, LECTURES AND CLASSES, AND OTHER FORMS OF RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION, WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE OF THE SAID INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Amateur sport
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Newport City
Income and spending
In the year ending 28 February 2025, it had income of £38,829 and spent £17,296.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 28 February 2025 | £38,829 | £17,296 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 29 February 2024 | £22,114 | £12,357 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2023 | £18,183 | £38,746 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2022 | £17,333 | £17,560 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2021 | £28,329 | £24,104 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 37%, from £28,329 in the year to 28 February 2021 to £38,829 in the year to 28 February 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 45% of its income in the year to 28 February 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 28 February 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 28 February 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 29 February 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 28 February 2021 | £12,000 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2024, worth at least £16,000.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£10,000, 1 grant
- Postcode Community Trust£6,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Mar 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £6,000 |
| 19 Mar 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- Alan Guthrie
- Natasha Sullivan
- Stacey Little
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 28 February 2025 | 28 December 2025 | Received 30 October 2025, 59 days early | Received 30 October 2025 |
| 29 February 2024 | 29 December 2024 | Received 7 October 2024, 83 days early | Not required |
| 28 February 2023 | 28 December 2023 | Received 27 October 2023, 62 days early | Not required |
| 28 February 2022 | 28 December 2022 | Received 26 May 2022, 216 days early | Not required |
| 28 February 2021 | 28 December 2021 | Received 29 December 2021, 1 day late | Received 29 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1148449
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 7 August 2012
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 18/05/2012AS AMENDED ON 31/07/2012
- Website
- www.castletonvillagehall.weebly.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.