Porthcawl Young Men's Christianassociation
What it does
We seek to contribute to the life of the community of Porthcawl, primarily, but not exclusively, in terms of providing services for children and young people. Many activities we run ourselves, with a variety of paid and voluntary help, but we also make the building available to other organisations that want a town centre venue for one-off or regular activities.
Its charitable purposes
ACCORDINGLY THE ASSOCIATION’S OBJECTS ARE:3.1 TO FURTHER THE CAUSE AND WORK OF THE YMCA IN PORTHCAWL;3.2 TO SUPPORT THE WORK OF THE YMCA IN WALES;3.3 TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION FOR PEOPLE OF ALL AGES WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THEIR CONDITIONS OF LIFE;3.4 TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN EDUCATION FOR PEOPLE OF ALL AGES WITH THE OBJECT OF DEVELOPING THEIR PHYSICAL, MENTAL OR SPIRITUAL CAPACITIES;3.5 TO RELIEVE AND PROMOTE THE RELIEF OF PEOPLE OF ALL AGES WHO ARE IN NEED, HARDSHIP OR DISTRESS BY REASON OF THEIR SOCIAL, PHYSICAL OR ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES; AND3.6 TO PROVIDE AND PROMOTE THE PROVISION OF RESIDENTIAL ACCOMMODATION FOR PEOPLE OF ALL AGES WHO ARE IN NEED, HARDSHIP OR DISTRESS BY REASON OF THEIR SOCIAL, PHYSICAL OR ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES.
Causes
- What it works on
- Disability
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £108,541 and spent £114,417.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £108,541 | £114,417 | Not reported | 8 |
| 31 March 2024 | £106,268 | £111,626 | Not reported | 4 |
| 31 March 2023 | £74,186 | £97,081 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2022 | £83,679 | £89,693 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £91,093 | £87,411 | Not reported | 2 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 19%, from £91,093 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £108,541 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 105% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £6,089 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,814 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £8,083 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £38,350 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2014, worth at least £29,918.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 3 Jul 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £20,000 |
| 23 Jun 2016 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,998 |
| 17 May 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,920 |
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Francis Jeffrey Perren OBEChair
- Adam Charles Morris Philips
- Anthony John Hornsby
- Christopher Huw Nicholas
- Dr Jane Maine
- Dr Julie Louise Withecomb
- Leslie Andrew William Tallon-Morris
- Matthew David Ralph
- Sarah Watkins
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 31 January 2026 | Received 31 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 20 November 2024, 72 days early | Received 20 November 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 6 September 2022, 147 days early | Received 6 September 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 6 January 2022, 25 days early | Received 6 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1149008
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 18 September 2012
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 25/07/2012 as amended on 16 Mar 2021 as amended on 02 Aug 2022
- Company number
- 08156824This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.