British Scouting Overseas Area Scout Council
What it does
British Scouting Overseas is part of The Scout Association of the United Kingdom and supports Groups running the UK Scout programme in many throughout the world. This is support is provided through a network of Districts (covering defined areas of the world) and a system of learning and development for adult volunteers.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE DEVELOPMENT OF YOUNG PEOPLE IN ACHIEVING THEIR FULL PHYSICAL, INTELLECTUAL, SOCIAL AND SPIRITUAL POTENTIALS AS INDIVIDUALS, AS RESPONSIBLE CITIZENS AND AS MEMBERS OF THEIR LOCAL,NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITIES
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Bahrain
- Belgium
- China
- Czech Republic
- France
- Germany
- Indonesia
- Japan
- Kenya
- Kuwait
- Latvia
- Luxembourg
- Malaysia
- Netherlands
- Norway
- Oman
- Qatar
- Russia
- Saudi Arabia
- Singapore
- Spain
- Sweden
- Thailand
- United Arab Emirates
- Falkland Islands
- Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
- Saint Helena
- Dubai
- Abu Dhabi
- Brunei
- Italy
- Egypt
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £118,592 and spent £194,410.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £118,592 | £194,410 | Not reported | 50 |
| 31 March 2024 | £138,546 | £132,520 | Not reported | 76 |
| 31 March 2023 | £287,347 | £225,220 | Not reported | 91 |
| 31 March 2022 | £163,999 | £147,146 | Not reported | 29 |
| 31 March 2021 | £79,592 | £186,395 | Not reported | 45 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 49%, from £79,592 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £118,592 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 164% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
12 trustees run the charity.
- Christopher Paul WallChair
- Andrew Peter Sangster
- Benjamin Atkins
- David Bull OBE
- David Clark
- Graham William John Eden
- Ian Mark Silvester
- John Kevin Engelhart
- Martin William Payne
- Sadeed Bin Sayed
- Sandro Pace-Bonello
- Theo Lasar
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 10 September 2025, 143 days early | Received 10 September 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 17 October 2024, 106 days early | Received 17 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 31 October 2023, 92 days early | Received 31 October 2023 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 9 September 2022, 144 days early | Received 9 September 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 20 September 2021, 133 days early | Received 20 September 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1151702
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 19 April 2013
- Governing document
- ROYAL CHARTER GRANTED 04/01/1912AS AMENDED BY SUPPLEMENTAL CHARTER DATED 28/03/1949AS AMENDED BY SUPPLEMENTAL CHARTER DATED 18/02/1959AS AMENDED BY SUPPLEMENTAL CHARTER DATED 05/05/1967AS AMENDED BY SUPPLEMENTAL CHARTER DATED 19/07/1991
- Website
- www.britishscoutingoverseas.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Flintshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.