Street Football Wales (Sfw)
What it does
SFW is a social inclusion project currently run in Wales made up of people aged 16 and above facing social exclusion through homelessness, substance misuse, mental ill health or cultural issues. All are facing daily barriers to be part involved in society and communities they live in, caused by the ever present stigma attached to their situations.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECT(S) OF THE CIO ARE:TO PROMOTE SOCIAL INCLUSION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY PREVENTING PEOPLE FROM BECOMING SOCIALLY EXCLUDED, RELIEVING THE NEEDS OF THOSE PEOPLE LIVING IN WALES WHO ARE SOCIALLY EXCLUDED, IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY THE PROVISION OF SPORTING ACTIVITIES AND GENERIC SUPPORT AND TRAINING FOR SUCH PERSONS, IN ORDER THAT THEY ARE BETTER ABLE TO IDENTIFY, AND HELP MEET, THEIR NEEDS AND TO PARTICIPATE AND INTEGRATE MORE FULLY INTO SOCIETY.FOR THE PURPOSE OF THIS CLAUSE ‘SOCIALLY EXCLUDED’ MEANS BEING EXCLUDED FROM SOCIETY, OR PARTS OF SOCIETY, AS A RESULT OF ONE OF MORE OF THE FOLLOWING FACTORS: UNEMPLOYMENT; FINANCIAL HARDSHIP; YOUTH OR OLD AGE; ILL HEALTH (PHYSICAL OR MENTAL); SUBSTANCE ABUSE OR DEPENDENCY INCLUDING ALCOHOL AND DRUGS; DISCRIMINATION ON THE GROUNDS OF SEX, RACE, DISABILITY, ETHNIC ORIGIN, RELIGION, BELIEF, CREED, SEXUAL ORIENTATION OR GENDER RE-ASSIGNMENT; POOR EDUCATIONAL OR SKILLS ATTAINMENT; RELATIONSHIP AND FAMILY BREAKDOWN; POOR HOUSING (THAT IS HOUSING THAT DOES NOT MEET BASIC HABITABLE STANDARDS; CRIME (EITHER AS A VICTIM OF CRIME OR AS AN OFFENDER REHABILITATING INTO SOCIETY).
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £71,904 and spent £142,028.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £71,904 | £142,028 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 March 2024 | £112,774 | £147,326 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 March 2023 | £93,258 | £127,006 | Not reported | 14 |
| 31 March 2022 | £197,055 | £89,658 | Not reported | 14 |
| 31 March 2021 | £116,040 | £75,987 | Not reported | 14 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 38%, from £116,040 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £71,904 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 198% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2018, worth at least £435,093.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£414,643, 2 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£20,450, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 Sept 2024 | Postcode Community Trust | £20,450 |
| 26 Sept 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £20,000 |
| 29 Nov 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £394,643 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Chantelle Francis
- Graham Smith
- Keith Morgan
- Steven Williams
- Tim Hartley
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 30 January 2026, 1 day early | Received 30 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 20 January 2025, 11 days early | Received 20 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 16 May 2024, 106 days late | Received 16 May 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 23 January 2023, 8 days early | Received 23 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 13 January 2022, 18 days early | Received 13 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1152799
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 July 2013
- Governing document
- CIO - Foundation Registered 10 Jul 2013 as amended on 14 Jan 2025
- Website
- www.streetfootballwales.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.