Beddau and Tynant Community Library
What it does
Free book lending service
Its charitable purposes
THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC IN BEDDAU AND THE SURROUNDING AREA BY THE PROVISION OF A COMMUNITY LIBRARY AND ASSOCIATED SERVICES.TO PROMOTE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC IN BEDDAU AND THE SURROUNDING AREA THE PROVISION OF A COMMUNITY LIBRARY FACILITY FOR RECREATION AND/OR OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION OF INDIVIDUALS WHO HAVE NEED OF SUCH FACILITIES BY REASON OF THEIR YOUTH, AGE, INFIRMITY OR DISABLEMENT, FINANCIAL HARDSHIP OR SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC CIRCUMSTANCES OR FOR THE PUBLIC AT LARGE IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE AND WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITION OF LIFE OF THE SAID PUBLIC.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £8,011 and spent £8,794.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £8,011 | £8,794 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 August 2024 | £10,124 | £10,711 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 August 2023 | £9,136 | £11,603 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 August 2022 | £11,343 | £7,886 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 August 2021 | £8,948 | £5,798 | Not reported | 20 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 10%, from £8,948 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £8,011 in the year to 31 August 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 110% of its income in the year to 31 August 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2025: £6,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £6,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | £5,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £5,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2022 | £5,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £5,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
19 January 2022, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Declaration of Interest
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Julie Ann BartonChair
- Carol Anne Bowen
- Dr Catherine Preston MA, PhD
- Helen Boldero
- Olwen Chislett
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 2 February 2026, 148 days early | Received 2 February 2026 |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 18 February 2025, 132 days early | Received 18 February 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 6 February 2024, 145 days early | Received 6 February 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 23 January 2023, 158 days early | Received 23 January 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 16 January 2022, 165 days early | Received 16 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1157769
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 8 July 2014
- Governing document
- CIO - Association Registered 08 Jul 2014
- Website
- batcl.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.