The Other Room
The latest figures on the register are for the year ending 31 December 2024, 22 months ago. Charities must report within 10 months of their year end, so its report for the following year looks overdue.
What it does
The Other Room is a small space for big ideas. Presenting up-close work with a global perspective, it is a place where new Welsh plays go toe-to-toe with the classics of modern drama that celebrates Wales as a bi-lingual nation and where young artists have the freedom to take big risks. From our home in the heart of Cardiff we make ambitious world-class theatre with international reach.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE AND ENCOURAGE THE ARTS FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE PUBLIC BY THE DEVELOPMENT, PRODUCTION AND PRESENTATION OF NEW WRITING AND INTRODUCING INTERNATIONAL DRAMA TO THE BRITISH STAGE THROUGH BOTH THE ENGLISH AND WELSH LANGUAGES, AND THE PROVISION OF THEATRE FACILITIES AND THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION OF YOUNG PERSONS AND ADULTS BY PARTICIPATION IN THE EXPERIENCE OF THEATRE, DRAMA AND THE PERFORMING ARTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
Income and spending
The register has no income or spending figures for this charity.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £133,615 | £167,030 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2023 | £170,995 | £168,789 | Not reported | 10 |
| 31 December 2022 | £171,270 | £158,148 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 December 2021 | £94,343 | £82,735 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 42%, from £94,343 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £133,615 in the year to 31 December 2024.
- Spending against income
- It spent 125% of its income in the year to 31 December 2024. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 4 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2024: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £48,060 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2020 | £35,800 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 8 grants to this charity since 2015, worth at least £238,500.
By funder
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£178,500, 5 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£60,000, 3 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 11 Jan 2024 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £20,000 |
| 11 Jan 2024 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £20,000 |
| 13 Feb 2023 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £6,000 |
| 21 Apr 2021 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £60,000 |
| 5 May 2020 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £12,500 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Gareth Anthony Lucey
- John David Wilkins
- Louise Price
- Roshni Patel
- Simon Anthony Harris
- Suzanne Jackson
- Vivienne Elizabeth Buckley
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Not received | No record |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 31 October 2025 | Received 31 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 28 October 2024, 3 days early | Received 28 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 13 September 2023, 48 days early | Received 13 September 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 29 October 2022, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1157886
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 July 2014
- Governing document
- CIO - Foundation Registered 16 Jul 2014
- Website
- www.otherroomtheatre.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.